Skip to content

Easter for you doubters

April 4, 2010

 24Now Thomas, one of the Twelve, called the Twin, was not with them when Jesus came. 25So the other disciples told him, “We have seen the Lord.” But he said to them, “Unless I see in his hands the mark of the nails, and place my finger into the mark of the nails, and place my hand into his side, I will never believe.”

 26Eight days later, his disciples were inside again, and Thomas was with them. Although the doors were locked, Jesus came and stood among them and said, “Peace be with you.” 27Then he said to Thomas,  “Put your finger here, and see my hands; and put out your hand, and place it in my side. Do not disbelieve, but believe.” 28Thomas answered him,  “My Lord and my God!” 29Jesus said to him, “Have you believed because you have seen me? Blessed are those who have not seen and yet have believed.”

John 20:24-29, ESV

5 Comments leave one →
  1. erp permalink
    April 4, 2010 6:25 pm

    And? Note that Jesus did show himself to Thomas according to John’s gospel. I’m sure we doubters would be happy to take second class status as a price of demanding evidence before belief. BTW Paul seems to have gotten the same second class status; he didn’t believe before evidence according to Acts.

  2. thomas2026 permalink*
    April 4, 2010 7:40 pm

    The point of the passage is not that those who demand proof are second class. Far from it.

  3. erp permalink
    April 4, 2010 7:54 pm

    I suspect I am missing the point then.

    BTW does your denomination do the full Holy Week/Liturgical year?

  4. thomas2026 permalink*
    April 4, 2010 9:41 pm

    Erp,
    Depends on the individual church. I went to a Good Friday service at an Anglican church.

    The point with Thomas is not that Thomas is wrong, but those who will come after that won’t get Jesus’ bodily presence with them. They will have it hard, is kind of the point.

  5. AdamK permalink
    April 5, 2010 12:54 pm

    If Frodo appeared to me and showed me his bitten-off finger, I hope I’d be convinced there was something wrong with my mind.

    Happy Spring, all.

Leave a Reply

