Skip to content

Need Opinions

March 5, 2010

Hey Thomasites,

So, here is the soft launch for my website. I need your opinions. Keep in mind, I don’t have a lot of cash, so I’m trying to keep it simple.

Click here for authorial goodness.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. erp permalink
    March 6, 2010 2:26 am

    I would avoid 4mb pictures as they may take time to download on some connections.

    images/img_1396.jpg

    I would also recommend using alt tags. If you have firefox you might want to download the web developer toolbar

    http://chrispederick.com/work/web-developer/

    and the Colour Contrast analyser

    https://addons.mozilla.org/en-US/firefox/addon/7313

    to make sure your foreground/background colors work well together (I’m a bit concerned about your gray on gray)

  2. AdamK permalink
    March 6, 2010 9:57 am

    Hate the b&w picture. Prefer the picture you just posted here, o handsome fellow.

  3. Alex permalink
    March 6, 2010 10:54 am

    Like erp said – I have a super-fast ultra-death-machine internet connection, and sat there wondering “why is this page loading so slow?”

    I don’t particularly like the tabs on the right, the only “white space” is uncomfortable to look at (bottom left and upper right), and I, too, think it should be the color picture for the ATA shot.

    Also, I’d replace that huge picture with a a small news section, and maybe a smaller picture.

    Let me put it this way – if you did have a lot of cash, what would you want your webpage to look like?

  4. Johann permalink
    March 6, 2010 7:41 pm

    Nicely improved. =) A few small things: the Contact and Schedule pages have a page title that appears in the top left corner over your name. Besides being almost unreadable (black on dark grey), it noticeably changes the height your top bar. I suggest cutting it.

    Under contact info, I’d use direct links for your Twitter and Facebook pages.

    I like the new home page more, but it incidentally highlights something else I’ve noticed – you use different text styles on almost every page. =) Is that deliberate?

  5. Jerome permalink
    March 9, 2010 11:13 am

    Er, it looks like the scaling ratio on your photo is off on the website.

    The photo on the last blog post was 200×300, and this one was upsized to 230×378, when it should be 230×345 at 115%, stretching the image a bit (~11%) too long vertically.

    I don’t know if it stands out to anyone else, but skewed aspect ratios always stick out to me in a headache-inducing sort of way 🙂

  6. thomas2026 permalink*
    March 9, 2010 11:58 am

    Jerome,
    Yeah, we are working on that one. My dad and I are trying to figure out how the software works. Thanks for the input, however!

Leave a Reply

