Skip to content

Pre-Jubilee Nervousness

February 16, 2010

This weekend, the campus ministry organization that employs yours truly is having our huge national conference, Jubilee. It’s really a fantastic and unique conference. The goal of Jubilee is to get Christian students to think about how their faith applies to every aspect of their life, not just their “spiritual” life. It’s designed to help future teachers, artists, scientists, politicians, social justice advocates and enviormentalists think through the implications of following Christ in their careers.

It will be my first national conferenence speaking engagement. I’ll be leading two seminars with my buddy, Steve, who, by the way, has an excellant post on his blog about how to get the most of Jubilee. We will be talking about being called to campus ministry and a seminar based on my upcoming book, Confessions of a Pirate Chaplain: My life among the Atheists.

Even more exciting than all of that, we will be a part of a panal discussion with Ashley Paramore and Hemant Mehta. You all know Hemant. He is the chairperson of the Secular Student Alliance and wrote a little book called, “I Sold My Soul on eBay.” Ashley is on the board of the Secular Student Alliance and my favorite atheist in the world. As far as I know, this is the first time this sort of thing has been attempted at a Christian student conference.

I’m nervous to say the least. This is basically my idea and I helped get Ashley and Hemant to Jubilee. I’m not really nervous because I think something bad will happen. I think it’s more of a general nervousness. Can’t really put a finger on it. Might be excitement. Might be worry I’ll say something stupid. Who knows?

The drawback is that I’m going to be missing some good seminars by people I would love to hear. We have a great lineup that includes Makoto Fujimura (internationally known artist), David Dark (fantastic writer), Denis Haack (cultural guru), Jim Belcher (fantastic church thinker), and the civil rights legend, John Perkins. I’m hoping all of these folks will be main session speakers so I won’t feel totally left out.

Yikes, looking on that list of speakers, no wonder I feel nervous. Can’t even believe I’m on the same website page as them. Sheesh.

I’m planning on blogging about the experience, and maybe having my talks up here on the Thomas Society. I think we are going to tape the Christian/atheist panal, so we will have video of that.

More to come as the weekend draws closer. Oh, and obviously, this  means my replies to posts will be limited until next week. I wish it could be otherwise, but my life is a crazy train right now.

31 Comments leave one →
  1. February 16, 2010 1:06 pm

    Me too bro.

  2. Knockgoats permalink
    February 16, 2010 3:53 pm

    Might be worry I’ll say something stupid.

    Don’t worry: you will!

  3. thomas2026 permalink*
    February 16, 2010 4:02 pm

    Thanks for the moral support, Knockgoats. I so wish you were there to encourage and cheer me on.

  4. David permalink
    February 17, 2010 2:24 am

    Knockgoats- Is this friendly teasing or are you just being a pill?
    Text- not the best medium for tone.

    Jon- “worrying” is the correct tense, there. But your conference is unlikely to be full of pedants. And this will be your second national conference. Remember? You spoke in the lion’s den at the SSA conference last summer.

    You’ll do fine and I think better than most.

  5. Knockgoats permalink
    February 17, 2010 4:55 am

    David,
    I’m just being a pill. When Jonathan resiles from his homophobic bigotry, I’ll stop.

  6. thomas2026 permalink*
    February 17, 2010 10:04 am

    Ah, David, you are right. How could I forget? See? I’m not myself.

  7. thomas2026 permalink*
    February 17, 2010 10:06 am

    Knockgoats,
    Whenever I start being a homophobic bigot, I’ll be sure to cease and desist.

  8. AdamK permalink
    February 17, 2010 11:10 am

    Jon, you have stated that if you had a church, you would not marry gay couples. There is no reason for making this distiction other than homophobic bigotry.

  9. Knockgoats permalink
    February 17, 2010 11:13 am

    Jon,
    The fact that you don’t recognise that you’re a homophobic bigot is unsurprising: how many bigots of whatever sort do – unless and until they stop being bigots and recognise it in hindsight?

  10. thomas2026 permalink*
    February 17, 2010 11:50 am

    I don’t want to have this discussion again. So, it’s now over.

  11. AdamK permalink
    February 17, 2010 12:10 pm

    Jon — Knockgoats, with his customary forbearance and understatement, let you off the hook this time for your hypocrisy. Instead of crossing your arms, sticking out your lower lip, and holding your breath in a snit, perhaps you should attend to the Niebuhr quote Andrew Sullivan just posted:
    http://andrewsullivan.theatlantic.com/the_daily_dish/2010/02/quote-for-ash-wednesday.html

  12. thomas2026 permalink*
    February 17, 2010 12:33 pm

    Adam,
    I don’t edit my blog, ever. Everyone is entitled to their opinion. However, just don’t expect me to accept your and Knockgoats opinion in lumping me with homophobes. I told you the only rule is that people can’t attack others. So, keep it up with the homophobe and hypocrisy statements as long as they are directed at me.

    Just don’t expect me to engage in the conversation.

  13. AdamK permalink
    February 17, 2010 1:21 pm

    We haven’t lumped you; you have lumped yourself.

  14. February 17, 2010 1:40 pm

    I’ll hold your hand the whole way through! Er…. or side hug in support. 😛

  15. thomas2026 permalink*
    February 17, 2010 2:31 pm

    Hehe. Give me that Christian side hug, that Christian side hug….

    Or, erh, atheist side hug? Does that work?

  16. Nick M. Gotts permalink
    February 18, 2010 12:16 am

    Here’s how the unprejudiced heart reacts to the news that someone is gay: it leaps for joy. –AdamK

    Since people are reviving this discussion, I thought I would dig up this gem, AdamK’s prejudice test. Ready?

    Neil Patrick Harris is gay.

    Did your heart leap for joy?

    If you answered no, you (or I guess maybe just your heart?) are prejudiced.

    If you joined AdamK in answering yes, congratulations. Please feel free to luxuriate in the following link with my compliments. There are enough heart-leaps there for you to have a pretty wonderful afternoon.

  17. Nick Gotts permalink
    February 20, 2010 11:01 am

    The preceding comment, printed under my name and 15-year-old photograph, was not by me. I ask for whoever impersonated me to be banned from this blog.

  18. Knick Gaughts permalink
    February 20, 2010 9:11 pm

    Real Nick Gotts,

    If I had intended to impersonate you, I would have called myself Knockgoats, acted like a prick, lied about Jonathan\’s statements from other websites, and liberally plagiarized wikipedia.org and rationalresponders.com. Since I did not do these things, I assumed everyone would know that I am not the real Nick Gotts.

    At any rate, I\’ve changed the screen name so there\’s no more confusion. Best of luck to you, real Nick Gotts.

  19. Nick Gotts permalink
    February 21, 2010 5:31 am

    “Knick Gaughts”

    Using my name and my photograph is impersonating me, liar. I again ask the blog owner to ban this person from the blog, and also to remove the comment under my name and photograph, which was not mine.

  20. Matt W. permalink
    February 21, 2010 11:43 am

    Nick Gotts,

    I think the original comment in question will come down. But I don’t see why a ban is necessary. Your name and photograph are not being used anymore. For someone whose name-calling and copy-and pasting have been inescapable on this blog for the past several weeks, I think a ban would constitute a relatively low level of tolerance in this case. The decision will be left to Jon, though. He’s traveling, so that’s why he hasn’t addressed it, I’m sure.

    Matt

  21. Knick Gaughts permalink
    February 21, 2010 12:33 pm

    Relax, real Nick Gotts. I wasn\’t using your name, I was using this guy\’s name.

    As for me being a liar, I\’m not quite sure what you mean. You\’re out there everyday calling yourself Knockgoats. But your name is not Knockgoats. Similarly, I\’m out there calling myself Knick Gaughts. But my name is not Knick Gaughts. It\’s just my handle, like Knockgoats, or Thomas2026.

    And the photo? I\’ve removed it, but I don\’t think you have adequately proved that my use of the photo was anything more than coincidence. For all you know, I could have Googled \”sixty-five-year-old unoriginal, plagiarizing, lying jackass\” and that picture was the first thing that came up.

    And now you want to ban me? The real Nick Gotts can\’t answer the criticisms so he\’s attempting to silence the voice. Come on, Nicky, you really think that censorship is the answer?

  22. Nick Gotts permalink
    February 21, 2010 12:53 pm

    Matt W.
    So long as no more comments from impersonators appear under my name, I am happy to drop the matter.

  23. Nick Gotts permalink
    February 21, 2010 1:22 pm

    “Knick Gaughts”,

    I suppose if you are sufficiently dishonest to impersonate someone, mere lying comes very easily. It is not censorship to try to stop a liar impersonating you.

  24. Knick Gaughts permalink
    February 21, 2010 2:03 pm

    \”Nick Gotts,\”

    Censor : to suppress or delete as objectionable (merriam-webster.com).

    You want to delete my post and suppress further posts because you find them objectionable. Just because you find a particular form of censorship acceptable does not mean that it is not censorship.

    Also, you will note that, after I used someone else\’s words above, I provided a citation. If I had not provided a citation, I would have been guilty of plagiarism. Stealing other people\’s words and ideas. Lying to readers by causing them to believe that certain thoughts and statements were my own, when they were not. Come to think of it, real Nick Gotts, I suppose if you are sufficiently dishonest to plagiarize the work of others, mere lying comes very easily.

  25. Nick Gotts permalink
    February 21, 2010 2:19 pm

    You want to delete my post and suppress further posts because you find them objectionable.
    You lie again. I want to prevent you impersonating me. That is all, and by no definition is it censorship, liar.

  26. Nick Gotts permalink
    February 21, 2010 2:27 pm

    “Knick Gaughts”,
    Since you are a proven and persistent liar, it is difficult to see how any promise from you not to impersonate me again could be trusted. However, if the blogowner would hold all posts from you in moderation to ensure that you are not doing so, or can find some other way of ensuring that you do not do so again, that would be fine with me.

  27. Knick Gaughts permalink
    February 21, 2010 2:38 pm

    Which part was the lie? You want to delete my post and prevent me from posting again:

    \”I again ask the blog owner to ban this person from the blog, and also to remove the comment under my name and photograph, which was not mine.\”

    So you both (1) want to delete my post and suppress further posts, and (2) you want to do so because you find my posts objectionable (as evidence by the fact that you are objecting to my initial post).

    This is a cute game of semantics, but it is not really to the point, real Nick Gotts, which is that you are a liar and a plagiarist. Congrats on another winning post, real Nick Gotts-the-plagiarizing-liar.

  28. Nick Gotts permalink
    February 21, 2010 2:44 pm

    I am objecting to your initial post because it was posted under my name, and originally, my photograph. That is impersonation, and impersonation is a particularly despicable form of lying. So, you are a proven and despicable liar. Claiming that by trying to prevent a proven and despicable liar impersonating me I am attempting censorship, is also a lie. You have persisted with this claim, so you are a persistent proven and despicable liar. Now, carry on with your lies all you like, so long as you do not impersonate me again.

  29. Knick Gaughts permalink
    February 21, 2010 2:46 pm

    Sidenote: Knockgoats, it is really entertaining to see this crybaby side of you. Keep throwing your tantrum, you epic plagiarist liar.

  30. Knick Gaughts permalink
    February 21, 2010 2:50 pm

    Nicky,

    I just proved to you that you are trying to censor me. Despite this, you still insist that you are not trying to censor me. This means that you are either a liar, or an idiot. Let me know which it is so I can change your new moniker accordingly, real Nick Gotts-the-plagiarizing-liar.

  31. thomas2026 permalink*
    February 21, 2010 5:03 pm

    Ok, as I have been traveling, I missed this entire discussion.

    Knick Gaughts, the one rule we have is no flame wars with others. So, please cease and desist or you will be banned.

    I have also deleted the link to the facebook pages as well.

    This conversation is over between the two of you.

Leave a Reply

