Skip to content

“Don’t call it a come back”.. Attie Awards

February 13, 2010

I know, I know, you have all missed them. The Attie awards. Beloved by everyone. Well, everyone who doesn’t get one.

This week’s winner is someone I have laid off for a long time. The reason I have done so is they seem to have a vendetta against the organization that employs yours truly. I didn’t want to seem like a homer, as it were.

But now, I can give the the Attie to “And The World Hears Them” blog with a great degree of self satisfaction and self righteousness.

Why give it to them? Because of their completely failure to obey a Biblical command, pray for your leaders instead of disrespecting them while passing it off as a “joyful heart”.

Here is the Joke:

An Israeli doctor says, “Medicine in my country is so advanced that we can take a kidney out of one man, put it in another, and have him looking for work in six weeks.” 
 
A German doctor says, “That is nothing; we can take a lung out of one person, put it in another, and have him looking for work in four weeks.” 

A Russian doctor says, “In my country, medicine is so advanced that we can take half a heart out of one person, put it in another, and have them both looking for work in two weeks.” 

An ILLINOIS doctor, not to be outdone, says. “You guys are way behind. We recently took a man with no brains out of ILLINOIS , put him in the White House for SIX MONTHS, and now half the COUNTRY is looking for work .”

I remember when the president of what would soon be my seminary spoke at my college. He started his talk by giving an illustration of how a teacher at his kid’s Christian school told a disrespectful joke about then President Clinton. He told the joke and everyone laughed. Then, I will never forget this for as long as I live, the president says, “How dare that teacher teach my children to disrespect his nation’s leader instead of praying for him!”

Needless to say, the chapel got very, very quiet.

Illustrates the point quite well, doesn’t it? Congrats  to the “And the World Hears them Blog” for teaching Christians to disobey a Biblical directive and disrespect our nation’s leader in one terrible post. Well done, my friends, well done.

St. Thomas, release the Presidential hounds…..

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Knockgoats permalink
    February 14, 2010 8:15 am

    So was it wrong for Cambodians to disrespect Pol Pot, Chileans Augusto Pinochet, South Africans Hendrik Verwoerd?

  2. thomas2026 permalink*
    February 14, 2010 5:28 pm

    Ok, since I posted this on the blog, “And the World Hears them” has taken down their joke. Nice work. Can an Attie be rescended? Maybe. But the post stays up as a warning.

  3. February 14, 2010 11:02 pm

    How about “Chelsea Clinton” jokes? It’s a bit late, but the cruelty of people who express their political discontent by picking on a (then) awkward teenager still pisses me off.

Leave a Reply

