Skip to content

Alternate Titles

January 6, 2010

Hey Thomas Lovelies,

I think I have told you all the publisher doesn’t like my title, The Bone Conjurors. I’m still going to fight for it, but I thought of some other ideas, just in case. Need your opinions.

The Dead Talkers
The Dust Talkers
The Bone Talkers,
Seen and Unseen (I like this one),
The Dead Gates
Shadows of the Dead.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Richard Eis permalink
    January 7, 2010 7:28 am

    I can’t find the article when you described what the book was about.

  2. AdamK permalink
    January 8, 2010 11:06 am

    “Seen and Unseen” is vastly superior to the other choices, which all seem conventional and boring. “Seen and Unseen” is an actual reference to the credo and bears a meaning already, but has a creepy second reading as well. “Bones” and “dead” and “dust” and “shadows” are all used up.

    Unless your editor’s goal is to seem as trite as possible.

  3. thomas2026 permalink*
    January 8, 2010 11:13 am

    Hmm, excellant points. I never thought about that.

  4. thomas2026 permalink*
    January 8, 2010 11:14 am

    And you are right about the credo part, which is one of the reasons its attractive to me. It certainly reflects on the theme of the novel.

  5. January 8, 2010 2:38 pm

    I’d agree with AdamK, “Seen and Unseen” is the best of that list, although I’d like to add that your publisher is insane. “The Bone Conjurers” is a great title and I liked it immediately.

Leave a Reply

