Skip to content

So, I have my copy!!!!

November 18, 2009

Of the Ray Comfort edition of The Origin of the Species. Post on my thoughts coming soon.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. November 18, 2009 4:33 pm

    I’ve read some of the book. If I’m remembering it right, Darwin made some very cogent points and the relationships between nearly identical species of finches and other such animals. But keep in mind (as I’m sure you will) that Darwin is writing from the perspective of someone who both is ignorant of the complexities that modern science has found in the genetic code and cellular structures, and as someone who wrote On The Origin of Species after his daughter died, in a deep state of doubt as to whether God could allow such a thing.

  2. thomas2026 permalink*
    November 18, 2009 8:10 pm

    Actually, Mitchell, Francis Collins has written in the Language of God that genetics proves Darwin’s theory.

    Actually, he developed his theory before the death of his daughter, but Origin wasn’t published until after.

  3. December 31, 2009 6:23 pm

    I’ve read both people who think genetics proves Darwin’s theory and people who don’t. I don’t know who Francis Collins at all, perhaps I should get acquainted with him. Regardless, it is true that Darwin still produced his theory without an advanced knowledge of genetics, so whether you believe the basic idea of evolution or not, I’d recommend some supplementation of his work with another, more advanced book of evolution, perhaps Richard Dawkin’s The Selfish Gene. But then I’m not sure what you have and have not read, so maybe you won’t read to supplement his work at all.

    I hadn’t realized that Darwin’s theory was full-fledged (had evolved feathers, I suppose we could say) before the death of his daughter. I suppose I heard that it wasn’t from some of my favorite young-earth creationist sources. Just goes again to prove the value of checking stories before believing people.

    Regards,

    Mitchell Powell.

Leave a Reply

