Skip to content

Ho, Ho, Ho, Merry Atties!!!!

November 10, 2009

attie_1x600Remember, if you give one gift this year, give an Attie. And this week, we are showing our loving hearts by giving one to the Save Christmas campaign that happens every year. The lovely people at the Liberty Counsel has issued their yearly naughty and nice list.

Suddenly, I feel very Scrooge-like.

Don’t get me wrong. I love Christmas. Yes, I realize that Jesus wasn’t born on December 25th. Yes, I realize that some of the Christmas traditions have pagan roots. But, none of that really bothers me, as I think Christ came to redeem culture, not do away with it. So, I have no problem decorating my pagan tree and kissing my wife under the misseltoe. It’s the time of year Christians celebrate the greatest gift of all, God’s son, who came to redeem the whole world and invites us to celebration.

So, I hate it when people cheapen Christmas by doing stupid “Save Christmas” campaigns. If Christmas needs us to  save it by having bumper stickers, listening to Bill O’Reiley’s rants, or boycott business’ who use “Happy Holidays”, then Christmas is not worth saving. It will have become one more useless idol. An idol that would have us participate in it’s rituals by buying as much crap as we can from retailers who obviously care about Jesus because they put Merry Christmas in their advertisements.  (note sarcasm)

So, congrats Libery Counsel, for bowing down and sacrificing your children to the altar of American consumerism. The Golden Calf would be so proud.

St. Thomas, release the hounds and tell them to watch out for the fruitcake.

11 Comments leave one →
  1. Ms. Crazy Pants permalink
    November 10, 2009 11:56 am

    I concur, though I don’t think I’d feel all that bad if Christmas went away completely.

  2. AdamK permalink
    November 10, 2009 12:47 pm

    Love the solstice, like the pretty lights, hate the commercial crap and the endlessly repeated idiotic carols.

    Bah!

    “Silent night, holy night?” How about shutting up then?

    Humbug!

  3. Michelle permalink
    November 10, 2009 2:15 pm

    You make a good point, although, for some people, at least, I don’t think it’s all about the consumerism. I think it’s also about the feeling that “everyone else BUT Christians are allowed or even encouraged to celebrate their religion” and deliebrately not using the word “Christmas” feels like yet another slap in the face in that regard.

  4. Michelle permalink
    November 10, 2009 2:16 pm

    “deliberately” I meant to say . . . .

  5. November 10, 2009 3:56 pm

    @Michelle:
    So where are the Ramadan Specials on Amazon or B&N?

    Personally, I’m glad that companies stop pretending to actually care – it shows them as what they really are: legal entities devoted to making money, and nothing else.
    (and yes, devoted is the best word I’ve found to express the relation companies have towards money)

  6. Ms. Crazy Pants permalink
    November 10, 2009 4:13 pm

    >>“everyone else BUT Christians are allowed or even encouraged to celebrate their religion”

    —Seems more like the Christians being put closer to equal standing with the others. No one is yelling out that this is a Jewish country or an Islamic country or any other religion. I never see any display crossing the line between church and state EXCEPT Christian displays. I never have anyone knocking on my door to hand me insulting literature except Christians. Christianity has held a lot of special privileges in this country since the 50’s rather than believing in any kind of equality.

    There’s only so much abuse one can take before they just walk away and don’t really care. America is starting to do that to Christianity.

  7. November 10, 2009 6:00 pm

    Remember the Law of Conservation of Fruitcakes. Only so many fruitcakes are actually consumed in a given year. An equal number of fruitcakes are baked. The rest, and in fact the majority, are simply gifts from last year that will be redistributed to people who will, in turn, give them away next year. And so the cycle continues.

  8. Michelle permalink
    November 10, 2009 6:11 pm

    @ PG and @ Ms. Crazy Pants,
    notice I said “feeling” that . . . . perhaps I should’ve used the word “perception” although I’m not sure that really makes a difference. I’m not saying it’s true or not, just that’s what a lot of Christians seem to be feeling. Just wanted to throw out another perspective . . . .

  9. November 10, 2009 6:39 pm

    You’re right, Michelle. The “War on Christmas” and similar propaganda is, in fact, designed to foster exactly that feeling. That despite being in the great majority, despite adherents holding most, if not all, the levers of power, despite copious special (and often unearned) privileges, and despite an absence of actual persecution, Christians are a poor, downtrodden minority who face nothing but hatred and persecution for their beliefs.

  10. Richard Eis permalink
    November 11, 2009 5:12 am

    ugh, christmas shopping. They can have their christmas back. It’s too expensive and guilt-ridden.

  11. AdamK permalink
    November 11, 2009 12:20 pm

    I actually like fruitcake. There, I said it. Year-old fruitcake, not so much.

Leave a Reply

