Skip to content

Thousands of Fossils, Three Fossil Hunters and the Creator.

October 25, 2009
IMG_3898

Trilobite pieces. The Trilobite is the offical fossil of Ohio.

My boys have been sick most of the week, so I decided to get them out of the house. We couldn’t really take them to church today, as they were still contagious. I decided to take them fossil hunting and teach them about how God works in creation. So, we packed up and drove to southwestern Ohio to do some fossil hunting.

For those of you who don’t know, Ohio contains some of the best fossil beds in the world. During the Ordovician period (about 450 million years ago), Ohio was covered in a shallow, tropical sea. This sea was teaming with ancient sea life that died on this ocean floor. Through the process of fossilization, fossil hunters of Ohio have an explosion of fossil goodness.  

We visited one of the best fossil beds in the state at Ceasar Creek State Park which borders on a lake created by the Corp of Engineers. In the process of making the dam, they created spillways. The spillway water has washed away the soil to the ancient seabed and its fossils.

IMG_3890

After a stop at the visitor center to get a permit (they are free), we went to the fossil beds. The three of us set across the fossil beds, delighted at the abundance at our feet. If you were being irresponsible, you seriously carry out a trashbag full of fossils and not even come close to making a dent. The three of us filled our small plastic bags with Trilobites, Crinoids, Brachopods and Coral.

I used this time to talk to the boys about how God created the world. That is, He did so through natural processes that took a very long time. We talked about early life forms, how they lived and died, and how God developed life.

I taught them early sceintific methods as I asked them questions about each fossil. We are going to clean, find out the scientific names for each one and put them on cards.

In the end, we are going to put together our own little fossil museum in the basement of our house, complete with charts and timelines. I’m sure it’s going to be a worldwide attraction.

So, it was a great day of spending time with my two favorite boys in the world in God’s creation and learning how to be scientists.

My boys standing on the floor of a 400 million year old sea

My boys standing on the floor of a 400 million year old sea

4 Comments leave one →
  1. October 25, 2009 11:58 pm

    I had no idea that Ohio is a hotbed of fossils. You are a good Dad, and I hope everyone gets well soon.

  2. thomas2026 permalink*
    October 26, 2009 12:35 am

    Thanks Tomato. Everyone is still not over it.

    I didnt either until I moved here. Apparently, we are world famous. After today, I understand why. There are a number of different sites in Ohio.

  3. AdamK permalink
    October 26, 2009 3:16 pm

    When I was a kid growing up in Ohio we used to go out to new highway construction sites where they had blasted through a hill and exposed the strata, and grub around for fossils. We never failed to find some.

    Made it impossible to be disinterested in science later in life.

  4. March 19, 2010 5:04 am

    What an excellent day out! Well done for teaching that God’s Creation through evolution is just as miraculous as it would be if it were achieved in a shorter spell of time. The Ordivician is truly ancient and was a very long period. I read somewhere that in places (may have been the Rockies) Ordivician deposits are known to be up to 18,000 ft deep (and high?). Amazing.

    It will be a fine fossil display for sure.

    My wife and I went fossil hunting along the beach at Redcar in North East England last weekend and about three quarters of the way through the day it struck me that virtual fossil hunting could be rather fun! I took some pictures of beach pebbles for a ‘spot the fossil’ activity. You can see them set in a comic strip at http://hughpaxton.wordpress.com/2010/03/18/lets-go-fossil-hunting/

    I don’t know if the area that you visited offers a similar opportunity? I saved the pictures as pdfs and then used the circle highlighter tool to mark fossils that I could see – there may be others in the pictures that I missed. The cartoon strip maker is called Comic Life made by PlasQ.com

    Anyway, thank you for sharing your fossils with us!

Leave a Reply

