Skip to content

Attie Award: Special Sunday Edition

October 4, 2009

attie_1x600I once said that we would give Atties to ourselves if we felt it was warranted. Well, we have reached that time.

Jonathan Weyer, this Attie is for you for your unclear, grumpy satrical piece on The Courtier’s Reply.

Look, I think my original point stands, but I think I made it in a poorly written, and maybe not funny way. I was trying to say that I found PZ’s poke at self righteous Christians arrogant assumption that people are atheists because they just haven’t read this or that argument, funny. I think it’s funny, but wrong in it’s assumptions. So, I thought I would be funny back and poke fun at the Christians and PZ. Both are being a bit pompous and deserved to have their ego deflated.

From the reponse, it just didn’t work. Sure, I could blame my cold addled brain, but that might be too generous. I’ll let the readers decide. As for me, I’ll ask St. Thomas to release the hounds and this time, they don’t have to go far.

17 Comments leave one →
  1. ferret wrangler permalink
    October 4, 2009 5:43 pm

    Naw, you don’t deserve the Attie – your writting style just got posessed by the funditude of the demonspawn-who-shant-be named.

    Just give the hounds a biscuit and some ear scritches.

  2. Johann permalink
    October 4, 2009 5:59 pm

    Agreed – it was just rambling and fogged up by medication, nowhere near the spectacular idiotry displayed by some of the other nominees.

    *lays out a biscuit trail off into the woods for the hounds, runs, climbs a tree just to be on the safe side* 😉

  3. AdamK permalink
    October 4, 2009 6:52 pm

    You should restore the expurgated post.

  4. thomas2026 permalink*
    October 4, 2009 7:26 pm

    And, for crying outloud, I gave myself an Attie, what more do you want? Blood? My first born?

  5. ferret wrangler permalink
    October 4, 2009 8:17 pm

    **passes J a bag of gummi bears**

    Breathe.

  6. thomas2026 permalink*
    October 4, 2009 9:24 pm

    Ferret,
    Ill admit, Im a bit cranky. I have a cold and I have not heard from a publisher. It makes Johnny a cranky boy.

  7. October 4, 2009 10:42 pm

    Jonathan, its the internet. Everyone is opinionated, has space to write said opinions and can hide behind veils of anonymity.

    I read the piece and it didn’t make a lot of sense to me, I was going to compare it to PZ’s piece and have a look, but ran out of time, and then the piece was taken down. Personally I would have left it up and stated your mea culpa… or said you were going to rewrite it when better. Taking it down may seem like censorship to some, and that’s a sensitive topic.

    Just remember that other people’s reactions are their own, and not something you have to take personally. Their reaction is about them, and although they may say its about you, its about their internal thought and emotional processes and their own reactions. You may be the target of grumpiness or dissent, but when it comes down to it, you are just as entitled to your own opinion as anyone else.

    In relation to Dawkins and PZ… your stated position (you are 99.9% sure there is a god) and their stated positions (they are 99.9% sure there isn’t a god) are polar opposites. I’m not a logistician, but I suspect that this may influence the identification of logical fallacies.

    In another comment about internet anonymity, my husband was a regular poster at a newsgroup years ago. He and another user would have frequent arguments about various issues that got quite personal. Someone challenged them to provide personal details, and as we were about to move house, my husband posted his telephone number. The other user from the US called my husband and they chatted on the phone for a while (we live in Australia). After that, neither of them could be rude to each other, they both had realised the other’s humanity.

    When posting on the internet, it is easy to see others as enemies, and its so rarely true.

  8. thomas2026 permalink*
    October 5, 2009 8:05 am

    Rebecca,
    Thank you for your kind words.

    I certainly didn’t mean to promote censorship when I took down my post. I think I just thought as it was my own writing, I could censor myself all I wanted. 🙂 The only thing that got me was taking everyone’s comments with it, but that really couldn’t be helped. However, lesson learned and I won’t be doing that again in the future.

    I normally don’ t take things personally, except when people question my integrity the way Adam did. I think I have proved myself time and time again on this blog that I will be honest to the point of my own hurt. Because of that, I thought I deserved a little slack, which Adam didn’t want to see to give. He certainly doesn’t have to give me said slack. But, it would sure be nice.

    I would certainly agree that my position that God exists colors everything I do or say. I freely admit it. I think PZ and Dawkins are coming around to doing the same. I’m perfectly fine with that and I don’t think it decides the truth of their arguments either. However, the rules of logic are for everyone. 🙂 And, the point I had tried to make in a sarcastic, funny way, was that the Courtier’s reply IS full of logical fallacies. I certainly realize (contrary to everyone’s opinion) that was not PZ’s point. Thus, the bad attempt at humor on my part which was meant to poke fun at Christians and PZ. I didn’t work, fine, but it wasn’t really pesonal.

  9. AdamK permalink
    October 5, 2009 8:24 am

    I hereby give you slack.

    May you always behave with the integrity and humility you preach, and never again be possessed by the spirit of Pastor Tom.

  10. fauxrs permalink
    October 5, 2009 9:34 am

    I read the piece and like several others couldnt wrap my mind around it at first, I went back to re-read PZ’s piece but camw back to a missing one here.

    In future maybe you could just lock the post to prevent further commentary, the last comment being your mea culpa as described earlier.

  11. thomas2026 permalink*
    October 5, 2009 10:48 am

    Lesson learned. In the future, no post will go undeleted.

  12. thomas2026 permalink*
    October 5, 2009 10:49 am

    Possessed by the spirit of Pastor Tom? Hmmm, maybe. In truth, I don’t think it was THAT bad.

  13. AdamK permalink
    October 5, 2009 11:03 am

    And, for crying outloud, I gave myself an Attie, what more do you want? Blood? My first born?

    You gave yourself an Attie for writing a bad post, which was no problem in my eyes. I was disappointed that you deleted it. That seemed dishonest. That’s what you deserve an Attie for, not the original post.

    If you regretted it, you should have said so, and let it go. Or added a disclaimer to the original post.

    Bear in mind that we commenters don’t have the luxury of rewriting our own history of faux pas. All I can do when I post nonsense is state that I retract it and apologize. (I should probably do so more often.)

    But illness is a sound excuse. When I’m sick I get even more addle-pated than usual, if you can believe that.

    Let’s forget all about it, shall we? Onward! Think of all those glorious disagreements waiting for us over the horizon! All those lovely cans of worms yet to be opened!

  14. Ms. Crazy Pants permalink
    October 5, 2009 1:08 pm

    The problem with ever making a mistake anywhere is that there’s always some person with an ulterior motive who will claim that one always said and always meant the incorrect thing. I find that happens to me all that time. If I have to stop and think about something for a minute, the other party assumes they have suddenly “won” the argument. It’s really, really annoying. Then, there’s never convincing the opposing party, because once a mistake, pause, or mis-wording is done once, the opposing party will claim that you are either an idiot, a liar, or just unreliable. It’s at those times I get the urge to strap the person to a chair, put duct-tape over their mouth, and threaten them with a bat if they just don’t shut up and listen for a second. (only an urge, never acted on)

    Your god might forgive, but generally, human beings only do that when it suits them.

  15. thomas2026 permalink*
    October 5, 2009 1:11 pm

    MCP,
    Too true, I fear. Forgiveness is something we all yack about (especially Christians) but we never realize the cost in doing so. I tell my students that forgiveness is never just a one time thing, it has to be a day to day choice. This is especially true when someone really hurts us and does permanent damage.

  16. Richard Eis permalink
    October 6, 2009 11:24 am

    Meh, people only over-reacted because it is usual to ban comments or hide evidence of lying with the fundies. It’s so expected in fact that this is the conclusion you can’t help but automatically jump to.

  17. October 7, 2009 9:14 am

    Congratulations! You are the first recipient of the Attie that is able to be self-critical and learn from the experience.
    ****Applause***
    Bear it with honor.

Leave a Reply

