Skip to content

Belated Attie Award (the masses can stop weeping now)

September 17, 2009

attie_1x600This week’s Attie award winner gets a distinction that no one has ever gotten. That is, I would actually like to sit down and have a beer or some kentucky bourbon with him.

So, then, why does he get it? Well, Mr Edwin Kagan, gets the award because of his bad comedy routines in the name of reason and freethought.  

What are those needlessly stupid things? Well, for one, he is the guy who has been going around and preforming debaptism ceremonies for atheists who, for some reason, feel the need for some ceremony of “cleansing”. Basically, these ceremonies involved some sort of ritual, an oath of some type, and being blown with a blow dryer. I’m not making this up.

Or, the faux communion service that he held for PZ outside of the Creation Museum that consisted of a cheese on a cracker (Cheesus Christ, get it?), and bourbon while he award PZ a Kentucky Colonelship.

Or, at the Secular Student Alliance conference wearing a priest’s uniform, declaring, “why should religious ministers have the market on black outfits and white collars?”

Ok, I’m not stupid, I get why Edwin does these things. They are to mock religion and it’s ceremonies to show how silly they are, blah, blah, blah.

The reason you are getting the Attie is not because I think your actions are more blasphemous  than, say, TV preacher’s pervsion of the gospel. Nor are you getting it because I think it’s wrong to question religious practices (everyone knows I do the same). You are getting it because I’m wondering how a smart person with an obviously great sense of humor can come up with such stupid, hackneyed faux Borat comedy? Come Edwin, we here at the Thomas Society expect much better from you.   

So, Edwin, here is your Attie. And if you are ever up Columbus way again, the first round is on me.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Ms. Crazy Pants permalink
    September 17, 2009 1:49 pm

    I don’t see this person as funny. Now, when people on Saturday night live are dressing up as priests, then it’s funny, but those are professionals who know how to make it funny. Everyone else is just dull and boring. On the other hand, I think how funny it is depends on how much one was subjected to religion as a child. My mother loves any kind of joke that is harsh on nuns, but I’m sure even today she would like to go whack with a ruler the corpses of the nuns she grew up with. She has some very serious issues that continue into her 70’s as a result of abuse from the nuns.

    Maybe you just haven’t been subjected to enough abuse?

  2. thomas2026 permalink*
    September 17, 2009 2:10 pm

    MCP,
    Oh, I have been subjected to plenty of religious abuse. Never fear.

    I actually have fond memories of my time as a Catholic.

  3. September 17, 2009 4:03 pm

    CRY ATTIE! And let loose the dogs of grade-D humor.

    Off Topic: Automotive Apostasy, From Gumby the Cat.

  4. September 17, 2009 4:37 pm

    I respectfully disagree. I ❤ Edward Kagin and participated in the "Coming Out" party in Westerville last year. I decided to do the debaptism thing in the spur of the moment. It was so much fun! I grew up in a Church of Christ in Kentucky and was baptized at age 11. I had a lot of fear instilled in me growing up. In fact, I clearly remember being a young child (maybe 9 or 10) and hoping I would die before I reached age 12, that magically "age of accountability" they drilled into us, so that I would be guaranteed of spending eternity in Heaven. How sick is that?

    The debaptism ceremony was very therapeutic for me. I was able to laugh at the silly beliefs I held as a child and up until about the age of 19. I was able to finally put all of that nonsense behind me. I think mockery and satire are the best responses to insane ideas. I still get a kick out of "blasphemous" humor. 😀

  5. thomas2026 permalink*
    September 18, 2009 9:47 am

    Jen,
    Of course, you do. And I get a kick out of making fun of debaptisms. 🙂 It’s all good. The Atties are always done in a spirit of fun and cooking sacred cows.

    But, welcome to the blog!

Leave a Reply

