Skip to content

The real Attie is coming tomorrow, but…

September 7, 2009

I know, I know, I said that I wouldn’t mention Pastor “WhomustnotbeNamed” but I couldn’t help it this time. He has a whole blog post ranting about a person in England who just wrote a column for The Independent.

The funny thing that just made me laugh and laugh was his making fun of this person calling themselves, “Lord May“.

I’m sure  you English types around here have spotted it already.

What our dear “Pastor” Whomustnotbenamed, doesn’t realize is that it his title. In England, people are given these titles and in official capacities, called Lord or Lady.   So,  you see, dear “Pastor” whomustnotbenamed, that actually is his given, earned title, as he is a peer of Her Majesty’s realm, given to him by Her Majesty herself.

I swear, that blog HAS to be parody. It just has to be. Right?

22 Comments leave one →
  1. erp permalink
    September 7, 2009 4:56 pm

    Sir is the title one gets with a knighthood. Lord May is actually a life peer (Baron) appointed in 2001 (Lord can also be inherited but not in this case). He also is in the Order of Merit which is much trickier than being a peer (only 24 people can belong at any one time) but comes with no title.

  2. September 7, 2009 6:34 pm

    I wish he was a Poe, but since we actually saw him trolling around the Creation Museum, I’m pretty sure he’s not. Sigh.

  3. Andrew permalink
    September 7, 2009 6:49 pm

    His full list of honours apparently includes a knighthood too (the “Kt” after the name is used by Knights Bachelor who have some other honour or title that precludes the use of “Sir”, such as a peerage). The “AC” indicates Companion of the Order of Australia.

    The Order of Merit is, in addition to being limited to 24 living members, also the personal gift of the Queen (advised only by her private secretaries in this case, whereas almost all other honours are awarded based on nominations filtered through a government committee). While it’s not the highest honour in order of precedence, it’s regarded as being one of the most prestigious. Other current holders include David Attenborough, physicist Roger Penrose, double Nobel laureate Frederick Sanger, artist Lucian Freud, religious historian Rev. Owen Chadwick, Tim Berners-Lee, playwright Tom Stoppard, etc. Becoming President of the Royal Society seems to be a common way to get it; three former presidents besides May and the current president (who is also the current Astronomer Royal) are members.

    The peerage thing is more complicated these days than it has been in the past, due to attempts to reform the House of Lords; Lord May was one of the first group of “non-partisan” peers chosen by the House of Lords Appointment Committee, which took over some of the functions of recommending candidates for peerages that had previously been under government control.

  4. Matheus permalink
    September 7, 2009 7:30 pm

    He is not a Poe. His rather strange behavior is easily explained though, he is just an attention whore. And you all are just feeding him 🙂
    I don’t think anyone who doesn’t think he is a lunatic is going to listen to anybody else, so there is no point in correcting him. There is only so much someone can do and still deserve any kind of response, so I am just leaving him rant alone.
    Perhaps you too should forget about him.

  5. thomas2026 permalink*
    September 7, 2009 7:58 pm

    Matheus,

    I know it. I should leave it alone. But, damn, I can’t help it sometimes. Lord??? Oh man…..

  6. September 7, 2009 11:40 pm

    I’ve only been to HeWhoMustNotBeNamed’s site once, and since then I have wisely heeded the warnings. This got my curiosity up though, so I went to take a look. This was the first thing I saw:

    “Truly Tom you are a typical pig ignorant american.”

    I was laughing too hard to read any more than that.

    Looking forward to that Attie

  7. September 7, 2009 11:40 pm

    Oh dear. He’s started posting on reddit now: http://www.reddit.com/r/Christianity/comments/9i6yp/famous_atheist_thinks_christians_should_be/

    He also claimed that Matt Slick/Carm’s version of TAG (which is riddled with errors) was the best argument for God’s existence he’d seen. If that’s true, he must have a dismal opinion of the theistic proofs.

  8. thomas2026 permalink*
    September 7, 2009 11:46 pm

    Tomato,
    Sigh, I’m not going to give him one, as I don’t know if there can be a double award winner. I mean, can you be inducted into the Hall of Fame twice?

  9. September 8, 2009 1:35 am

    I too have largely weaned myself off watching the car wreck,
    but the comment below by him shows his motives and madess. He tries to ‘make us go away’ by pointing out we’re making him money, but if we did ALL go away for good , he would be devasted – he loves the attention – if we all left he would be just shouting to 2 or 3 like minded fuckwits.

    I give you the floor “Pastor”

    “Hey atheists,

    Would it help if I told you this blog was somewhat profitable? Would the fact that you guys are actually making me money make you think it would be better to go somewhere else?

    In the interest of full disclosure, we’re not talking about very much money, but it’s something, and atheists are helping me get it.

    Surely this will make you all pack up and leave.”

  10. Johann permalink
    September 8, 2009 6:49 am

    And that is where Adblock Plus comes in. 😉

  11. Shannon permalink
    September 8, 2009 9:57 am

    I have not had the amount of sheer bravery (and a quixotic desire for windmill-tilting) that’s necessary to post there, but I can understand the allure.

    On the more apologetic side of the fence: idiocy should always be fought. In the trenches, in the blogs, in the textbooks – wherever it rears its impossibly ugly head. If PastorGuy is intent on spewing that idiocy, and with the recent uptick in his popularity due to the Museum visit, it behooves the non-idiots to at least leave commentary pointing out the idiocy. It’s just too easy to find a site online and assume it’s true simply due to a lack of dissenting voices.

    Of course, there’s also the inevitable (and unenviable) need to watch an ongoing train wreck and comment from the sidelines. One thing I will say in an admittedly not-really-compliment to we crazy nonbelievers: we loooove to argue. The farther out on the loony-meter the subject, the more we love to argue with vehimence. It seems a nigh-universal trait to the vocal atheist – heck, I know I’m guilty. I think it comes from decent motivation (i.e., the ongoing test of our belief, or lack thereof) but doesn’t really help when faced with guys like PastorGuy and his persecution complex.

    S’ why I appreciate sites like this one. The level of discourse here is vastly different, and hugely appreciated.

  12. September 8, 2009 10:22 am

    I was horrified by that blog post, and I don’t tend to go to that blog, though my partner does and laughs… and has his comments refused publication.

    I was interested that he published comments telling him that he was wrong and how… and still he ignored the comment and corrections made.

    Sheer lunacy

  13. September 8, 2009 10:23 am

    That wasn’t a recommendation, just relaying my amusement. If I were you I’d save the double-Attie for the really special cases. For all the bluster, HWMNBN is just another run-of-the-mill religious fanatic with a personality disorder*.

    * not a diagnosis, but I’d bet $$$ on it.

  14. September 8, 2009 12:37 pm

    Thing about the ads. I thought Adwords and the like paid based on unique clickthroughs, not the traffic of the site itself. So if people are going to his blog, but not following through the ad links, I doubt he’s getting a lot of cash out of it.

    I’ve got Adblock Plus here too, so it took me a while to realize he even had the silly things.

  15. September 8, 2009 12:40 pm

    Tomato:

    The sad part is, that sort of thing is all too common. Go wander around Conservapedia for a while, a good deal of that site is dead serious. Especially look at the fine work of the user “Conservative”, aka longtime forum and Wikipedia troll Ken DeMeyer. Now there’s a loud guy with problems.

  16. September 8, 2009 10:11 pm

    The good “pastor” has now thrown all of his toys out of his pram.

    Mad Tom has now shut off all commenting on his posts.

    He has instead set up separate Christian and atheist forums.

  17. gingerbeard permalink
    September 8, 2009 11:02 pm

    the good T.Esties is apparently rather incompetent as well as ignorant and highly prejudiced.

    You can still comment on all of his previous postings. just not the last one.

    I’m sure in time Tom will figure this out, or maybe he will get over this latest temper tantrum and re-allow comments

  18. ferret wrangler permalink
    September 9, 2009 1:21 am

    Tommy-Boy has now closed all comments to his articles, aww darn.

    But wait! he will allow postings on his ‘forum’…here comes the choo choo…

  19. Richard Eis permalink
    September 9, 2009 5:45 am

    -Sigh, I’m not going to give him one, as I don’t know if there can be a double award winner. I mean, can you be inducted into the Hall of Fame twice?-

    Every post is comedy gold. His shelves would collapse under the weight of all your awards just from last month.

    -Surely this will make you all pack up and leave.”-

    We already knew about it. It was factored in when we continued to post when he reinstated commenting. But you know the XKCD joke about skeptics. “I can’t leave the computer. Someone on the internet is wrong!!”

  20. September 9, 2009 11:05 pm

    Wow, I went back and lurked for a couple of weeks, really enjoying the comments section (and doing little more than skimming the actual posts). But now that he’s shunted the only thing I was reading for off to an obscure little ghetto, it’s not really fun any more. He’s a strange fish, wanting the atheists to hang around and give him traffic, then try to drive them off by telling them they’re giving him traffic.

  21. joe agnost permalink
    September 10, 2009 12:23 pm

    I’m happy to say that I haven’t been back since he first shut-down comments (except for a pet 2 or 3 “atheists” he’d still allow to comment).

    It sounds like he hasn’t changed… and here I sit, completely UNsurprised! 🙂

  22. September 12, 2009 11:12 pm

    This ‘video’ made by the good “pastor” really sums up how he thinks of himself.

    http://www.xtranormal.com/watch?e=20090830221449673

    A charitable view (such an approach he never grants us atheists), would be to say he is being ironic about himself.
    That would be his defenc(s)e , if challenged.

    However, the reality is he suffers from total delusions of grandeur , pomposity and total lack of empathy , which is startling for one who has a ‘flock’ who seem to worship him.

    This video was posted on one of his acolytes Shaun Workman’s blog http://meontrial.wordpress.com .

    Shaun is someone who I can have sympathy with as he has come off drugs avoided serious jail time ,was a former ardent atheist , is out of work , etc., but has unfortunately fallen under the clutches of Tom.
    I’m not averse to people gaining sustainance from religion , my father an atheist did in his dieing days at my mother’s church, although he probably was an agnostic when he died. However, if Shaun is to use such sustainance he would be better off with some one such as ‘our’ pastor Jonathan.

Leave a Reply

