Skip to content

Random Thoughts on a Wendsday

September 2, 2009

Listening to a girl I went to college went named Jennifer Daniels. If you have not heard of her, too bad, you are missing out. Her new album is out so go check it out right now.

Reading Ken Miller’s Finding Darwin’s God. I really am digging Ken Miller and his writing style. We are working hard to bring him to Ohio State. But, I don’t know if we are going to have the money. He’s a bit pricey, but well deserved.

I’m sitting here surrounded by a lot of books. The Thomas Society at Ohio State has it’s own library. It’s small, but we have an outstanding collection. We even have the Four Horsemen, believe it or not, but they aren’t complete. We still need Dennett on his pale horse….

I’m excited about this year at Ohio State. Along with our Doubt God discussions, we are going to have Jesus and Dawkins go to the Movies with the Students for Free Thought, an “atheist” bible study, and two big talks, one by Dr. Frtiz Schaeffer called, “The Big Bang, Stephen Hawking and God”. and Dr. Alvin Plantinga, “Does evolution undermine atheism?” Not to mention the New Orleans trip that we are taking on Spring Break with the aforementioned SFFT to rebuild houses in the Crescent City. It’s a big year, yeah?

Don’t think Christians laugh at themselves? Check out The Lark News, The Door, and Ship of Fools.

Is really impressed with the level of discussion this blog. You all are great and this blog couldn’t exist without you. Thanks for pushing us.

Okay, I will confess, I’m an American Football fantatic (I love soccer too). I can’t wait for Ohio State’s game against Navy. It will be interesting to see how the Baby Buckeyes stack up.

Along those lines, my St. Louis Cardinals are going to win the World Series. You can just feel it.

Thanks for reading….

7 Comments leave one →
  1. September 2, 2009 10:59 am

    Randomly off-topic (so…on-topic for a random thoughts post?), I just encountered this lovely video, working with the themes of evolution and diversity of life. Thought you’d like a look.

  2. Richard Eis permalink
    September 2, 2009 11:37 am

    PZ has an article on people scamming believers through ponzi schems and the like. Obviously we atheists are pointing out strong belief and a tight community make perfect breeding grounds for this type of scam.
    I would like to see your take on the situation. Do we have any personal stories on this type of thing here?

  3. Dawn permalink
    September 2, 2009 8:20 pm

    I will wish the Buckeyes luck on their game. However, these days, my heart belongs to Virginia Tech over U-M, because that is where child #1 is.

  4. September 3, 2009 4:45 am

    My heart belongs to Wycombe Wanderers and West Ham United , which will mean nothing to the majority of the readers on here I imagine.

    English Premier League and League One Football (soccer) teams.

  5. thomas2026 permalink*
    September 3, 2009 11:22 am

    I’m an Arsenal fan myself.

  6. September 3, 2009 12:06 pm

    Could be worse. Such as Manchester United.

    I like Arsene Wenger.

    What prey makes a Columusite support Arsenal ? – rather than another team ?

  7. September 3, 2009 12:12 pm

    Incidently , do I need your permission to put you on my blogroll.

    Only just started a blog , so you will have the dubious hono(u)r , of being my first.

Leave a Reply

