Skip to content

Stop it

August 30, 2009

Hey Everyone,

This is response to a blog posting over at Blag Hag by new found Purdue atheist friend, Jen. Apparently, some “Christian” folks have taken to defacing her student atheist group flyers.

If this was the only case I had heard of, I would dismiss it as a bunch of Purdue cranks who are sad because their football team sucks, so they have nothing better to do. But, sadly, this isn’t the only case I have heard about. Apparently, it happens here at Ohio State and other campuses’ throughout the country.

So, as a campus minister, I’m telling all of you Christians who think that defacing atheists flyers is a good way to spread the gospel, STOP IT. Somehow, when Jesus told us to go and make disciples of all people, I don’t think he had in mind defacing someone else’s property. You are not doing Jesus any favors and in fact, make the rest of us look stupid.

And, other campus ministers, please go out of your way and make every effort it’s not one of your students. True, it might be some idiot who doesn’t care about Jesus or Dawkins. But, you had better make sure by not even laughing about such stupidity.

And atheists, feel free to post this reponse on anything you want. I’ll gladly answer for it.

pax Jesu,

Rev. Jonathan Weyer

Campus Minister with the CCO and the Evangelical Presbyterian Church

8 Comments leave one →
  1. August 30, 2009 6:29 pm

    Thanks Jon, I really appreciate it. I always tell my members to not tear down flyers they disagree with, so I’d appreciate it if other groups did the same. And I actually have a positive story about interactions with a Christian group that I’m going to post soon, so hooray!

    Oh, and our football team does suck. Can’t argue with that.

  2. thomas2026 permalink*
    August 30, 2009 6:31 pm

    Your welcome Jen. Yes, I realize there was probably no need to point out the obvious in regards to the Boilermakers. But, I’m an arrogant Buckeye fan, what do you expect?

  3. AdamK permalink
    August 30, 2009 6:41 pm

    Jonathan, you’re a mensch.

  4. Matheus permalink
    August 30, 2009 8:33 pm

    That’s bad. Maybe you should scale the conflict a bit more and buy some billboard space nearby 😉 [poking fun at Jonathan]

  5. thomas2026 permalink*
    August 30, 2009 8:36 pm

    Smart ass. 🙂

  6. ericworringer permalink
    August 31, 2009 9:36 am

    so ummm how do I add this blog to my wordpress account to author posts.

  7. Ms. Crazy Pants permalink
    August 31, 2009 1:18 pm

    Thank you for posting on this. I don’t think those who hate anyone or anything that is different from themselves will stop, but it’s nice to see someone who is Christian speaking out.

  8. thomas2026 permalink*
    August 31, 2009 1:25 pm

    Your welcome MCP. I really believe this and teaching my students to put a stop to it here at Ohio State.

Leave a Reply

