Skip to content

Random Thoughts on a Friday.

August 28, 2009

I don’t think I have the mental capacity to write anything terribly profound and interesting today. But, I do have some random thoughts.

I’m reading Ken Miller’s “Only a Theory: Evolution and the Battle for America’s Soul. Great book. And makes me realize the whole battle between science and faith is largely a product of the Scopes Trial. Not many Christians were all that hopped about Mr. Darwin’s theory before then.

Not that I didn’t grasp it before, but I’m realizing how much damage bad theology does. If you don’t believe me, think on how much dispensational theology has influenced our Middle Eastern foreign policy.  And yes, theology DOES have rules. 

I’m excited about this quarter at Ohio State. There are going to be some good things happening. Check out the schedule section of this blog for more info. In addition to everything there, I’m adding some new things which will be the following:

October 29th: Participating in the Students for Free Thought “Stump a Christian Night”.

November 12: Students for Free Thought has asked me to do an “Atheist Bible Study” for them. Should be fun!

A Chaplain of Pirates has begun. I’m taking a lot of what I learn from conversations and trying to put them into the book. I may ask some of you for thoughts on certain passages. Be prepared.

14 Comments leave one →
  1. Richard Eis permalink
    August 28, 2009 10:03 am

    so…what is the book about? or have i missed a post or something?

  2. thomas2026 permalink*
    August 28, 2009 10:07 am

    Richard,
    I’m writing a book called, “A Chaplain of Pirates: My life among the Pastafarians.” It’s basically a book trying to show that atheists are actual people. Sort of like Hemant’s book.

  3. August 28, 2009 10:36 am

    oooo, can I be a Christian in stump the Christian night!?

  4. thomas2026 permalink*
    August 28, 2009 10:40 am

    Not up to me.

  5. thomas2026 permalink*
    August 28, 2009 10:42 am

    And, start posting some stuff on here man! I need the guest bloggers to get on the stick.

  6. YorkshireSkeptic permalink
    August 28, 2009 10:52 am

    Shiver me timbers, a fine title for what sounds like a fine book. Yargh!

    Crap pirate impressions aside, that does sound a cool project. Is it based on a certain time period you spent with atheists or accumulated observations over time?

  7. thomas2026 permalink*
    August 28, 2009 11:02 am

    Yorkshire,
    I think it’s actually a combination of both. I’m still working out details and such.

  8. Richard Eis permalink
    August 28, 2009 11:17 am

    This land-fish thinks that sounds interesting. I look forward to critiquing your snippets. Hey, i might accidently say something clever and end up in a book.

  9. AdamK permalink
    August 28, 2009 11:26 am

    Theology has rules?

    Who made them up?

    Whose theology?

    What are the rules?

    Can anyone apply them, or just certain selected sects of protestants?

    Are they universally agreed upon, or are the rules of theology a topic of theological dispute, like everything else in theology?

    What theological rules apply to this?:

    http://scienceblogs.com/pharyngula/2009/08/shame_on_washington_state.php#comments

  10. AdamK permalink
    August 28, 2009 3:33 pm

    What is “theology” exactly?

    Does Mary Baker Eddy do theology? What about Joseph Smith? What about L. Ron Hubbard? Moishe de Leon?

    Is there a distinction between theology and religious writing? Is Thomas Merton doing theology, or CS Lewis? What about Teilhard de Chardin speculating about evolution and the fall?

    Is this link theology? Because surely Martin Luther is a theologian, or am I mistaken? Is he following the rules?:

    http://www.humanitas-international.org/showcase/chronography/documents/luther-jews.htm

  11. Richard Eis permalink
    August 28, 2009 4:11 pm

    Apparently it’s the study of divine things (or things we think are divine) and their relation to non-divine things.
    I would expect theology to have rules or guidelines because it’s a human endeavor. I doubt they are carefully mapped out to pinpoint precision though.

    Jonathan I’m afraid however that you will have to explain (or give an example) when you say “Theology has rules” as i don’t actually get what you mean. I’m afraid i have never read the bible. Not properly anyway.

  12. thomas2026 permalink*
    August 28, 2009 4:31 pm

    Hey Richard,
    I’ll be posting something on the “rules” of theology either tonight or this weekend.

  13. AdamK permalink
    August 28, 2009 5:41 pm

    Is there “pseudo-theology” analogous to “pseudoscience”, wherein people THINK they’re doing theology, but they really aren’t?

  14. thomas2026 permalink*
    August 28, 2009 5:46 pm

    Adam,
    I’m going to post something on this tonight, but a short answer to this is yes, with some qualifications.

Leave a Reply

