Skip to content

Now declaring this a “Pastor” Tom free zone…

August 20, 2009

Okay, okay, I know we all like to have our fun with “Pastor” Tom. And, he likes to have his fun with me be insisting that I never talk about the Bible (I’m sure all you atheist folks are laughing at that one) or even backhandingly admitting that I’m a “fine writer”. Or questioning my faith in Christ or questioning my ministerial credentials. Oh wait, that isn’t fun? I’m sorry, I thought it was.

But, I do appreciate the link in your newest posts, Tom.

But, I hereby declare this a “Pastor Tom” free zone. Well, you all can still talk about him in the comments section, but no one from the Society is going blog about the whole silly nonsense anymore. Frankly, I think we have “Pastor Tom” brought all of us getting together, so we can at least thank him for that.

So, The Thomas Society will no longer post about good ole “Pastor Tom”, because we more important things to do.

Like finding Truth.

29 Comments leave one →
  1. August 21, 2009 12:19 am

    I’ve already been avoiding him in the comments here and at my own blog (although saying something nasty about him might increase my traffic, heh). He’s getting to be old hat, and rather a waste of time. Not so much jumping over the shark, but straight into it’s gullet.

  2. August 21, 2009 1:18 am

    I had the pleasure of emailing him a very similar sentiment today after experiencing his hypocrisy personally. As a skeptic I couldn’t have asked for better evidence.

    On to the next things.

  3. August 21, 2009 4:22 am

    Well, he has been able to drum up business so to speak (for himself and for others). He posted your blog so I came over here to take a peek. Looks pretty good! I think I’ll stop by again 🙂

  4. Shaun permalink
    August 21, 2009 5:14 am

    Please show respect for Tom, a man doing God’s work, unlike you Thomas , a fraud.

    Bo doubt this will be censored

  5. thomas2026 permalink*
    August 21, 2009 7:06 am

    Shaun,
    If i thought he was doing GOd’s work, he would get my respect. And, I tried showing him respect until he questioned my faith in Jesus and my ordination.

    And, unlike “Pastor Tom” I don’t censor.

  6. Richard Eis permalink
    August 21, 2009 7:44 am

    He has a guest speaker, telling us that Tom has been very patient (and tolerant!!!) with us atheists. Godlike patience in fact.

    Had he not banned me for little reason, called me vile and god-hating (and then have his friend tell me that i am an abominable sin), i would of course be over there now begging forgiveness and asking to bask once again in his amazing God-based examples of logic and reason.

    Since I am however banned. I am unable. How terrible.

  7. August 21, 2009 10:12 am

    Shaun wheezed,

    Bo doubt this will be censored

    Bo Doubt, eh? Any relation to Bo Derek?

    *Goes back to blowing bubbles in chocolate milk and other such third-grade activities.*

  8. Paul Bell permalink
    August 21, 2009 1:29 pm

    OT

    The scriptorium is a great but simple idea.
    Look forward to the list growing.

    A feature that would be beyond the comprehension of the unmentionable “P” .

  9. thomas2026 permalink*
    August 21, 2009 1:54 pm

    Thanks Paul. I’m going to post soon about suggestions for the Library. Thanks for stopping in!

  10. August 21, 2009 2:21 pm

    “…unlike you Thomas , a fraud.”

    Does Tom’s “special friend” Shaun think you’re actually St. Thomas?

    Bo doubt he does!

  11. Edward Lark permalink
    August 21, 2009 2:32 pm

    As this entire episode has rolled along it seems pretty clear to me that this entire thing has been just a big self-promotion scam for Tom. Someone said in another thread – I think on this blog – that Tom was not a liar, but a bullsh*tter. (Liars being those who know the truth, but speak falsely. Bullsh*tters being those that do not care whether what they say is truth or not.)

    This is a perfect description of Tom, I think. The world will be a little better place when his 15 minutes are up.

  12. joe agnost permalink
    August 21, 2009 2:48 pm

    Like Matheus said in another thread – just by visiting the hardtruth blog you’re giving Testes money… it is because of this that I have decided to resist my morbid facination and NOT visit his blog again.

    It’s a train wreck that just seems to get worse every day – but the idea that Testes is actually getting money for that crap he writes is more than I can bear.

  13. August 21, 2009 2:55 pm

    I’m not quite sure how he gets money from what he does, since there’s no advertisements or PayPal link. I doubt his church pays him for it. It seems it’s mainly there for self-aggrandizement wearing a “glory to God” suit. But it’s not God who’s being gloried here, it’s how wonderful of a servant Tom Estes is.

    As for the train wreck getting worse, as I said back at my blog once you take out the atheists and freethinkers, there’s not much there worth reading. His actual posts are full of crazystupid, but just that without refutations is boring.

  14. joe agnost permalink
    August 21, 2009 3:02 pm

    @Kelseigh: I don’t know for sure (as I won’t go back) but Matheus said that he DOES have ads now… this is why I won’t go back.

  15. Johann permalink
    August 21, 2009 4:27 pm

    This post, Edward? Heh. Didn’t think anybody actually noticed it – it was piped into the moderation queue (probably because of all the links) and only showed up after people posted several messages below it.

    He has a guest speaker, telling us that Tom has been very patient (and tolerant!!!) with us atheists. Godlike patience in fact.

    I told him that I like his sense of humor. Somehow, that comment didn’t get approved by Tom. 😉

  16. joe agnost permalink
    August 21, 2009 4:40 pm

    @johann – I read your ‘BS’ post about testes too… I thought it was excellent. I still think back to his initial visit to Pharyngula, when he said (paraphrased): “you will be amazed at the science you will see at the creation museum. You will be amazed that it’s ALL science – they don’t need to use the bible”.

    Imagine thinking that way?! Yikes!

  17. August 21, 2009 4:49 pm

    Going back to Honest Tom’s original posts over at Pharyngula, it’s amazing to see how much of a lie “I was never interested in PZ at all, and I didn’t know he was a god-hater” really is. He made it clear he wanted to be all chummy with PZ the atheist, and maybe win him over with his sparkling personality and rapport with the staff.

  18. Edward Lark permalink
    August 21, 2009 5:39 pm

    Johann – that’s the one. Excellent post, and right on the money.

  19. August 21, 2009 5:58 pm

    Oops. I don’t think he’s going to post all of my comments now. I tried to be nice. I thought so anyway? Oh well, maybe it just got lost in the shuffle. I’ll not assume the worst until he tells me he doesn’t want me posting anymore. How does he get paid for those ads? I’ve noticed them but I don’t know how they work. Do you get more money the more hits you’ve got?

  20. August 21, 2009 6:00 pm

    “Please show respect for Tom, a man doing God’s work, unlike you Thomas , a fraud.”

    Oh, come on now. That was just mean!

  21. joe agnost permalink
    August 21, 2009 6:07 pm

    Delilah: “How does he get paid for those ads? I’ve noticed them but I don’t know how they work. Do you get more money the more hits you’ve got?”

    You got it…. every time a person visits his site he gets more money – which is why I’ve banned myself from visiting. Tom is such a vile individual that I could not bear to bring him any money.

    (plus it’s like talking to a wall with him. I enjoyed the comments from others, but Tom – and a few of his minions [like his mom!] – refuses to learn. In fact, it almost appeared like he actually got dumber and dumber the more he was explained why he was wrong.)

  22. joe agnost permalink
    August 21, 2009 6:10 pm

    Delilah: “maybe it just got lost in the shuffle. I’ll not assume the worst until he tells me he doesn’t want me posting anymore.”

    Why? You’ve said several times that you don’t understand him (who can?). He doesn’t answer ANY questions you ask. He lies a LOT! You’ve found other places (like this one and the freethinker and pharyngula) to comment where you can actually get somewhere.

    So why bother with Testes at all? Especially if you know that he’s being paid by your visiting!

  23. August 21, 2009 6:40 pm

    Oh, duh! I’ve got the Ad Blocker Plus plugin, so naturally I wouldn’t see Tom’s ads. No wonder.

    Although testing this, I note he’s still trolling for hits, making accusations against a number of more successful sites in an effort to get mentioned, same thing he did at Pharyngula.

  24. August 21, 2009 7:19 pm

    Kelseigh, it’s funny you should say that. He just put out another post where he calls out at least five blogs and rants about atheists being liars. Joe, I guess that is why I thought I could stick around. To be one little tiny ignored voice who tries to actually represent God’s love (I’m not patting myself on the back here, I can be an awful person too!).

    I found some other posts from Tom today that I had not seen. I will admit I was actually surprised. They were even more hateful then what I had already seen. That really makes me sad. I don’t see how his blog can continue if he insists on treating people the way he does and refusing to let anyone speak.

  25. August 21, 2009 7:20 pm

    Oh duh, you already know. You must have seen it already. Pardon my stupidity!

  26. Edward Lark permalink
    August 21, 2009 8:24 pm

    There is a little part of me that still suspects (perhaps hopes?) that “Pastor” Tom is just a straight up marketing persona. I was pretty sure him and his site were completely fake when I first went over there – the density of his skull truly does stretch credulity – but began to think that he was actually real (which I think is even worse).

    I still am not completely convinced he is a real person. Perhaps I just don’t want to accept that people can be that terminally ignorant.

  27. August 21, 2009 9:20 pm

    He is a real person.

  28. August 22, 2009 3:29 am

    Joe, I think you may be right. I should probably just leave it alone. I’ve read some more things today I find extremely disturbing. So…I put this site on my list of blogs to follow! I should really leave Tom’s alone.

  29. August 22, 2009 3:57 am

    Tom’s a waste of time without the dissenters. Even Conservapedia has gotten boring, although the site owner and at least one of the others are good for a heaping dose of crazy. But honestly, the bullshitters (can I say bullshit here? guess I did) are at their most interesting when there are intelligent, honest people for them to oppose, and get torn apart by. I find refutations of crazy a lot more entertaining than the crazy itself.

    The fact that Tom’s (apparently) ramping up the offensiveness just shows his desperation as his audience fades away.

Leave a Reply

