Skip to content

Thank you

August 15, 2009

Hey everyone,
Well, it’s offically been a week since my blog exploded. As of last Friday, I had 60 views and now there are 10,000. I’m really grateful you all are here and I have already been floored by the well thought discussions we have had. My hope is that this will continue.

Spread the word, The Thomas Society is open for business.

Doubtfully,
J-

13 Comments leave one →
  1. erp permalink
    August 16, 2009 12:42 am

    I suspect it will calm down a bit though it might never return to closet.

  2. August 16, 2009 1:12 am

    Keep up the interesting posts and discussion, and I’m sure you’ll keep a steady readership.

  3. Matheus permalink
    August 16, 2009 3:29 am

    Hey, just want to add the suggestion that now that Tom Estes blocked anonymous comments in his blog, we should probably move our discussions over here.
    If anyone used a different alias there just let us know!

    Anyways seems this blog here now is gonna get busier than ever đŸ˜‰

  4. August 16, 2009 3:37 am

    Honestly, it makes sense. The conversations were always better when Honest Tom stayed the heck out of them anyway. It’d be interesting to see him watch his comments (and traffic) dwindle to a mere trickle, though.

    And by “interesting”, I mean “hilarious”.

  5. Jerome permalink
    August 16, 2009 5:03 am

    Hallooo fellow refugees, I was Discombobulated at Tom’s Shack of Silliness.

    I couldn’t help but be reminded of this after reading that, the last post I’ll be bothering with.

    Overall, I think CreoZerg was a tremendous success. There’s a couple of sane hits and for it on the first page of google search results, Jonathan here has shown himself to be open for rational discussion and has gathered quite a following with lots of good posts on the horizon, and despite tantrums thrown by the site owner, several good points were made and discussions had in the comment threads at Tom’s (at least as long as he doesn’t retcon things and throw them into the memory hole).

    I look forward to more, and I hope the overflow adds to your followers, Jon!

  6. Was Born Again permalink
    August 16, 2009 7:54 am

    BELOW IS A COPY OF MY POST ON Toms blog, I post it here as I see some of you, including those who posted replies to me over there have showed up here, and it look as though some of you may not be going back under his new ‘regime’, so anyway …….

    Well thank you for all the recent comments (on both sides), regarding my ‘journey’.

    I have bookmarked ALL sites suggested (on both sides).

    The description of ‘the con’ was a more eloquent description of EXACTLY what I was/am thinking and what triggered me to investigate BOTH sides.

    I have been honest on PZ’s site and said the pendulum is swinging in that direction. To be scientific I would say I am 60:40 in that direction, ie atheism.

    Tom himself has probably swung me from 55:45 to 60:40 on the atheist side. I suppose therefore I am if I am honest with myself to all intents and purposes an agnostic.

    Tom’s latest post (after this one), about membership etc. is fair enough as it’s his blog. However, the rule against bashing the Bible is quite frankly pathetic , and if this constitutes bashing the Bible , more so.
    Christians can bash atheists/their theories, but Tom considers it sacraldige to bash the Bible. I suspect even disagreeing counts as bashing.

    I have been reading the Thomas Society @ https://thomas2026.wordpress.com/
    which swings the pendulum a bit back to believing. He does good work with agnostics/wavering believers. Tom on the other hand may do v.good work for his own flock, but is not so good for waverers.

    To the Christians who have posted about my ‘situation’ I do genuinely appreciate your input, so the point about it not being a good idea to profess doubt I would not necessarily agree with, as I have appreciated their comments as well as the atheist’s ones.

    Probably the most telling comments are those that contrast most atheists saying go and explore , whereas that is a suggestion much rarer from the Christians on THIS site in contrast to those at https://thomas2026.wordpress.com/ .

    Sorry this post is long, but as there was so much input whilst I was away I wanted to give you all some of my feedback too.

    I hope Tom does not delete this because I have queried one of his rules (which he can make as it is his blog after all), but I maintain I haven’t broken it.

  7. Jerome permalink
    August 16, 2009 12:21 pm

    @Was Born Again/Mark Clifford:

    If you happen by here (you mentioned this site a couple of times) and you read this, you’ve received a few sites and so forth on “both sides” of the issue, but I didn’t see any mention of books.

    Allow me to wholeheartedly recommend The Demon-Haunted World by Carl Sagan. It is essentially a book on critical thinking and epistemology, and contrasts objective ways of knowing with all sorts of other things. It skirts around the issue of religion directly, but consists of 25 chapters covering numerous other things. Sagan obviously was a proponent of the scientific method, and it shines through here, but this isn’t an “atheist indoctrination tome”; it rather mostly speaks of objective apprehension of knowledge, with the best elimination of bias (which we all have) possible, for us fallible humans.

    In the interest of fairness, I have also heard that both Lee Strobel’s “Case for a Creator” and C.S. Lewis’ “Mere Christianity” are some of the often recommended books on apologetics (though each of them also have their own direct counter-apologetics, of course). I have not read either of them. Perhaps there are better books from this perspective of which I’m not aware; hopefully others will chime in with recommendations.

    And I’ll reiterate my best wishes on your journey, regardless of destination.

  8. thomas2026 permalink*
    August 16, 2009 12:41 pm

    There are two books I would recommend before Strobel’s work. Tim Keller’s Reason for God (New York Time’s Best Seller List) and NT Wright’s Simply Christian. Of course, Mere Christianity is ALWAYS good, but it’s references tend to be a bit dated.

  9. thomas2026 permalink*
    August 16, 2009 12:43 pm

    Thanks for stopping in, Was Born Again. Glad you could make it. Stick around!

  10. Andrew permalink
    August 16, 2009 3:41 pm

    Daylight Atheism has been ripping apart Strobel’s “Case for a Creator” in a long series of posts (about 15 so far). It’s clear that at least the parts he’s covered so far are primarily based on standard creationist science-denialism rather than any actual positive argument. (He’s even treating Jonathan Wells and Stephen Meyer as “authorities”.)

    (disclaimer: I have not read the book myself)

  11. Jerome permalink
    August 16, 2009 4:39 pm

    @Andrew: Yipes, I didn’t know it was quite that silly. Oh well, our esteemed host has what sounded from descriptions and reviews to be better recommendations.

  12. August 16, 2009 7:31 pm

    Was Born Again:

    While you’re at it, you might look into the other faiths that are out there and see what they think. If nothing else, it’s an interesting intellectual exercise and will expand your knowledge of the world, which is always a good thing. Buddhism, Hinduism, Islam, modern Paganism, and so forth. Learning is always a good thing, and the ideas and history behind the other faiths can be fascinating.

  13. Ray S. permalink
    August 17, 2009 4:17 am

    Dan Dennet at the Beyond Belief 2.0 conference argued for compulsory religious education in the schools. This is something that has been happening in UK schools for some time. The classes describe the basic beliefs of the major religions without proselytizing. Dennet’s talk is available at the Science Network.

    When and where I grew up, if someone was described as being of another religion, you assumed they were Methodist instead of Baptist. I was in high school before I discovered there were Catholics and Jews and many more.

Leave a Reply

