Skip to content

Random Thoughts on a Friday Morning

August 14, 2009

As I said, earlier, I’m going to add “Fellows of the Thomas Society”, guest bloggers, so that you all don’t get tired of me. I’m going to have atheists and Christians to keep with the spirit of the blog.

So, allow me introduce the first guest blogger who will hopefully post this weekend. His name is Cruz Davis and he is a fifth year senior at The Ohio State University. He majors in philosophy, loves good beer and plays in a few local Columbus bands.

I love independent book stores. I try to support them every chance I get. If you feel the same, allow me to introduce you to Byron Borger and Hearts and Minds Bookstore. Byron has a passion for all kinds of books. I have gotten everything from Christopher Hitchens’ God is Not Great to Tim Keller’s Reason for God. He will seriously get you any thing you want, no matter how obscure. Plus, he has a fantastic blog of his own where he reviews books. On your next book order, skip Amazon and get your book from Byron http://www.heartsandmindsbooks.com/

My good friend Steve, a fellow CCO campus minister at Penn State, has come up with an idea that’s winning awards. Seriously. He just won the top twelve ideas at the Leadership Network’s Ideanation Exerpience. The idea is a simple one, it’s basically on line Bible Wiki that you can add your own commentary or questions. If you are a student of the Bible (atheist or Christian), you really ought to check it out. http://www.commontary.com. The site is fairly new, so content is being added daily.

I love Scottie’s coffee house in Worthington. Great atmosphere to think and write. I have had a number of people tell me I should write a book on my experience with the whole Christian/Atheist dialogue at Ohio State. Today I have started writing notes for “A Chaplain of Pirates: My life among the Pastafarians.”

My other book, The Bone Conjurors, is a novel about an assitant pastor who has lost his faith and when his ex-fiancee is murdered, he starts seeing ghosts. It’s currently being read by an indie publisher in Minnesota. Haven’t heard anything yet. If you are a writer who has ever tried to get anything published, you know how it feels.

That’s all for now. I will be posting something later today called, “Debate is good, dialouge is better.”

6 Comments leave one →
  1. AdamK permalink
    August 14, 2009 3:04 pm

    Dialouge? Is that when an atheist and a christian slide down a snowy hill hand in hand?

    [/rude pedantic snark]

  2. thomas2026 permalink*
    August 14, 2009 3:19 pm

    Ha! No, it’s when they drink minty tea at a flowery coffee shop.

  3. August 14, 2009 3:27 pm

    Thanks for the shout out about Hearts & Minds and our blog. Maybe someday I’ll write about your published work. Keep at it!! And thanks for the reports of broad-ranging discussions…we done some work finding common ground with those on various sides of certain political/civic issues, too, and it is amazing how friendships can emerge which can lead to fruitful conversations about important things. You’re doing good stuff, JW. Thanks.

  4. thomas2026 permalink*
    August 14, 2009 3:30 pm

    Ladies and gentlemen, Mr. Byron Borger….

  5. MWB permalink
    August 15, 2009 7:26 pm

    I’m confused ( more than normal ) .
    Who is writing , ” A Chaplain For Pirates : My Life among the Pastafarians ” ?
    Mr. Davis or ye ?

    I have a suspicion that I will be amused by it .

    Sooooo …. which Pastafarian Pirate group you are drawing your notes from ?
    My search engines tell me that there are many related groups in cyberworld .

  6. thomas2026 permalink*
    August 15, 2009 7:48 pm

    MWB,
    I’m writing the book. I’m trying to pull from my time with the OSU atheist group, the SSA and now, our discussion here.

    I hope you will like it. I’m actually trying to make atheists seem more human and not a stereotype.

Leave a Reply

