Skip to content

Rules for Posting

August 13, 2009

I realized that I hadn’t laid out any ground rules for posting comments on the blog.

For that, we must quote Evelyn Beatrice Hall, “I disapprove of what you say, but I will defend to death your right to say it. (this is often attributed to Voltaire, but most historians think it was Hall, trying to capture the spirit of Voltaire)

This means no post will be edited for content or language. If you can’t take either, find Bambi or Dora the Explorer’s blog.

However, I will be quite forceful about playing nice. No name calling is allowed unless it applies (Ken Ham is a fundie nut job or PZ Myers is squid loving fool). No racism is allowed. And certainly, no threats of any kind will ever be tolerated. For the first two, you will be asked politely to refrain and your post deleted. For threats, you will be banned.

Other than that, fire away at me and each other.

10 Comments leave one →
  1. August 13, 2009 8:04 pm

    Personally, I prefer this Bambi, but hey.

    Can I still say uncharitable things about Honest Tom?

  2. AdamK permalink
    August 13, 2009 8:10 pm

    I hereby threaten to wish everybody well! Hah!

  3. August 13, 2009 8:19 pm

    *audible gasp!*

  4. Daniel permalink
    August 13, 2009 9:04 pm

    So calling the writer an egotistical, power-grubbing whore is not allowed? Damn…Not that I would mean any of it, it would just be fun to call you that…

  5. thomas2026 permalink*
    August 13, 2009 9:09 pm

    D,
    No, because that’s true. πŸ™‚

    (for the recored everyone, Daniel is one of my closest friends).

    J-

  6. AdamK permalink
    August 13, 2009 9:11 pm

    That’s a generous comment policy. I’ve tried to comment on christian blogs before and been banned for outrages like failing to capitalize “him.” I think it’s a wise policy as well. Hope it works.

  7. August 13, 2009 9:13 pm

    May I suggest a rule? All posts should demonstrate some specific relevance to the topic or comments. If they don’t you should consider them to be SPAM and delete them ASAP. You are likely to start seeing “flattery SPAM” or “blog whoring”, with vague comments and a link promoting another site. For example:

    Hey I just found your blog and I really like it!
    http://dreadtomatoaddiction.blogspot.com/

    Which is so vague I could cut and paste it anywhere. It might be sincere, but it’s generally not worth the time to investigate.

    Blog on!

  8. thomas2026 permalink*
    August 13, 2009 10:16 pm

    Hmm, good idea, thanks Tomato.

  9. AdamK permalink
    August 13, 2009 10:26 pm

    Tomato, that was admirably sneaky and underhanded. Blog-whoring as an example to use to condemn blog-whoring. Very subtle indeed.

    I hereby threaten to click on your link.

  10. August 13, 2009 10:39 pm

    *grin*
    For all the good it did me, since the link was already there.
    And you should know better than to click on those SPAMMER links, you just know it will only lead to someone’s garbage. πŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

