Skip to content

Quick Note

August 11, 2009

Hey Everyone,
If you don’t see your comment, give me time. My blog has exploded, so I might not get to everyone’s comments to approve them. You aren’t being edited, I’m just trying to catch up.

Doubtfully,
Jonathan

10 Comments leave one →
  1. pbxx permalink
    August 11, 2009 5:13 am

    Jonathon,

    Firstly (as an atheist) I am heartened by the tone on this blog, as opposed to Tom’s madhouse (who has railed against you yet again in a new post). However, this time he has at last had the courtesy to put a link up (and not keep taking them down and be proud about doing that as he did yesterday).
    Therfore you can expect that hit counter to keep whirring up !

    Secondly I am pleased about all the pharyngulites here. I lurk there but did link to you, (under another pseudonym), so feel good in some small way for my part in the entente cordiale here.

    Keep up the good work.

    Although I am ‘confident in my disbelief’ , it is good to have civilised dialogue.

    PS You mentioned Blackthorn cider in the other thread, (I am English), try Cornish scrumpy, or Magners Irish cider. Blackthorn is OK but is a bit like Budweiser being a good lager beer ! (with all due respect).

  2. thomas2026 permalink*
    August 11, 2009 12:31 pm

    PBXX,
    Thanks for stopping in. I’m grateful!

    I, too, am pleased to see all the pharyngulites here. Apparently, I have accomplished something everyone there would kill for, to be mentioned by PZ directly. No question he has made my blog. I thanked him!

    Ah yes, but see, you forget I’m in the states. Good cider as you mentioned, is nearly impossible to find. There is the swill known as woodchuck which is about equal to Pabst Blue Ribbon beer over here. So, I’ll take Blackthorn.

    Quick Joke: The presidents of Budweiser, Miller and Guiness walk into a bar. The pres of Budweiser asks for a Budweiser. The Pres. of Miller asks for a Miller. The pres. of Guiness asks for a glass of water. The President of Budweiser asks, “Why did you order water? Don’t you drink your own beer?”

    The Pres of Guiness gives them a half smile, “Ah lads, I thought since you were just drinking water, I thought I would join you.”

    Thank you folks, I’ll be here all day!

    Doubtfully,
    J-

  3. pbxx permalink
    August 11, 2009 12:38 pm

    Very good Joke.

    Maybe an business opportunity for exporting quality British/Irish cider awaits …. ?!

  4. thomas2026 permalink*
    August 11, 2009 12:54 pm

    No question about it.

  5. August 11, 2009 5:29 pm

    You’d be better off running that business in the States. Lots of decent (local and imported) beers and ciders here.

    Pity my reflux won’t allow me to drink beer any more. At least there’s still wine!

  6. pbxx permalink
    August 12, 2009 7:32 am

    Jonathon,

    Send an appropriate address to my email address and I will send you a small selection of ‘quality British/Irish ciders’ . (Seriously).

    I hope you accept my offer , and look upon it as for services to atheist/Christian dialogue.

    Also could provide me with useful feedback if I ever get round to that business idea !

    Cheers/ Slainte.
    (Gaelic for ‘health’, as you probably knew – being pedantic there should be an accute accent on the a, but my keyboard is not set up for that).

  7. pbxx permalink
    August 12, 2009 7:38 am

    PS Magners which I mentioned is available in USA

    http://www.magners.com/usa-and-canada/

    However, that will not scupper my plan as they are a big concern and I was thinking of micro breweries, from my brother-in-law upwards.

  8. thomas2026 permalink*
    August 12, 2009 1:50 pm

    I would be more than happy to give you that feedback!!! Email is on the way. I’ll never turn down cider. Ever. Ever.

    Slainte to you as well.

    J-

  9. MyaR permalink
    August 13, 2009 1:33 pm

    Magners in the US is not the same. Better than some of the other options, but nothing like what I drank in Ireland. I bounced between Magners and Guinness (also not at all the same, aside from a couple of Irish pubs in NYC) when I was there. And I still managed to win the Dublin Literary Pub Crawl quiz after visiting about 8 pubs and having a pint at each!

    (I’m another who found their way here from Pharyngula, and just pretty much echo everyone else’s comments — thanks for creating a civilized place where people can find common ground and question each other critically, but humanely.)

  10. thomas2026 permalink*
    August 13, 2009 2:12 pm

    Thanks Myar and welcome! Hope you will stick around.

    Doubtfully,
    J-

Leave a Reply

