Skip to content

Fight Human Slavery

August 11, 2009

Well, it seems I have become an “I” list celebrity on the Interwebs. And like all obnoxious celebrities, I have a cause I want to introduce to you all.

Except, unlike those obnoxious celebrities, I’m personally involved with this one. There are currently 27 million human beings held in slavery throughout the world. Many of them are trafficked into sexual slavery and most of those are young children.

Sadly, this has hit my beloved Buckeye state. The FBI has identified Ohio as a prime recruiting ground for sexual trafficking victims. Because of that, I have joined the Not for Sale campaign so I can fight the trafficking in my own back yard. Maybe someday I’ll be able to share the story here.

But, there is something you can do right now. Rep. Chris Smith (R-NJ) and Rep. Carolyn Maloney (D-NY) have co-sponsored a bill before the House of Represenatives that is designed to fight those despicable human beings who take children into slavery. Man, I would love to sick Ham’s attack dogs on those @#$&*).

Anyway, Congress needs to hear from you and it’s very easy. Go to the International Justice Missions website (an organization that fights human slavery around the world). They have a ready made form for you to fill out and they will send the message to your congress person. Well, that is, if you are a US citizen. If you aren’t, pressure your own governments to follow our lead on this one. I know, I know, America has not done a bang up job lately. But this one is worth it.

So, whether you are atheist, Christian or somewhere in between, let’s unleash the hounds of St. Thomas on these… people. And I use that term loosely.

Here is the link for IJM and the Not for Sale Campaign.
http://www.ijm.org/
http://www.notforsalecampaign.org/

Doubtfully,
J-

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Denovo permalink
    August 11, 2009 10:45 pm

    I did some research on the financial statements of the Not for Sale Campaign, as I do with all charities before I make donations.

    The name of the organization is the Not for Sale Fund, and it’s based in Montara, California. I noticed a few things that I’d like to see the clarified by the organization in its “About” page.

    On the 2008 IRS Form 990-EZ, which is a short form, the compensation paid to two officers (the president and secretary-treasurer) totaled $93,375, which is just over 14% of the organization’s total revenue of $645,872. That percentage is a bit steep. And the organization claims $271,488 in “other expenses” without describing the nature of the expenses despite a space provided for that purpose.

    And in the 2007 IRS Form 990, which is the long form, the organization claimed a revenue of $637,223 and expenses of $94,380 in “management and general” and $155,637 in “fundraising.” Those two expense groups total more than the $195,817 spent on “program services.”

    The organization has a laudable mission, it’s clear that no one is getting rich by working for it, and as for fundraising, well, you gotta spend money to make money. But the percentages seem a little out of whack. I like to see a higher percentage of my donated dollars to go directly to program services.

    Of course, I might be missing something here. If the organization provided a bit of financial detail on its website, I’d be happy to take another look at donating.

  2. thomas2026 permalink*
    August 11, 2009 10:55 pm

    Denovo,
    I’m sure they would appreciate the donation, but more important is to go to the IJM site and write your congress person.

    Doubtfully,
    J-

  3. benjdm permalink
    August 12, 2009 1:46 pm

    Letter to Congress-critters sent.

  4. Kevin permalink
    August 13, 2009 5:57 am

    When you can show me how the Bible does not advocate slavery I will willingly donate.

  5. thomas2026 permalink*
    August 13, 2009 2:14 pm

    Kevin,
    Bible questions aside, I wasn’t actually asking anyone to donate. I was asking them to write their congress person.

Leave a Reply

