Skip to content

Random Thoughts on the First Night of SSA

August 8, 2009

Here are some random thoughts on the first night of the conference.

I have been told that I’m probably the first minister to address the SSA conference. I’m honored. Still can’t believe I’m here. I’m grateful and everyone is really nice so far.

The first order of business for the conference was to hand out their awards to campus organizations. The Students for Free Thought Group at Ohio State won for their work with the Thomas Society during Spring Break in New Orleans. Congrats everyone!

Listened to lecture about atheist political activism. Strange that I heard basically the same speech at a “Christian” political activist group. Seek influence. Seek power. Makes me wonder.

Same talk, heard this phrase: Live your values. Once again, something I have heard before.

Media talk about controlling your image. I hear this from Christians all the time and it disturbs me. Read “Leading with a limp by Dan Allendar for further thoughts on this.

Interesting that much of the media presentation tonight was about how to present a friendly atheist face. Good stuff. Then it got blown to bits with “Blasphemy day”. Stupid idea, folks. I get that people want to be able to critique religion. Great. Go for it. But to call it Blasphemy Day, I’d say that’s pretty much ignoring the past two hours of what we just learned.

That’s all for now.

One Comment leave one →
  1. healthyaddict permalink
    August 10, 2009 10:56 am

    I’m with you on the blasphemy day note – I’d rather do a ‘free speech’ day.

Leave a Reply

