Skip to content

Quick Random thoughts on the Creation Museum

August 7, 2009

So here are some quick, random thoughts on the visit to the creation museum. More indepth thoughts coming later tonight, along with a report from the opening session of the Secular Student Alliance.

Great car ride down. Had a great philsophical conversation with an honest to goodness communist.

280 atheists was the final count.

Met a very nice atheist couple from Canada while waiting in line to get my ticket. Great look on their face when I told them not only was I Christian, I was a minister.

Got glared at by the Christian families going into the museum. Guess they thought I was another atheist. Or, it could have been my question mark cross tshirt (the sign of the Thomas Society) I wore. It says, “Question Everything” on the back. On second thought, I got a bunch of weird looks from the atheists too. I think I confused everyone.

No media circus. More like media ripple.

Everyone behaved themselves, Christian and atheist alike. It was tense, no question, but no hostility either. I could tell the museum staff was tense and they watched the atheists like hawks.

The museum has its own security staff with guns and guard dogs. Yes, you read that right. Guard dogs. Why????

Met PZ Myers (in) famous atheist blogger. Much nicer in person than on his blog. Will be hanging with him more during the conference. http://scienceblogs.com/pharyngula/

A dualistic worldview is a bad thing.

Dinosaurs rock. Probably my favorite part of the museum. What is it about those things that turn me into a seven year old?

Book store: Terrible. I’ll get into the more later, but the only book I would recommend in that store was Francis Schaeffer’s “How Should We then Live?” .

Seriously? People are still using Bishop Ussher’s dating of the age of the world? Why? Why???????? I love the good bishop theologicially, but the dating system, yuck.

Atheists annoyed me a few times with some of their comments. Christians annoyed me with their hostile looks at the atheists.

Cool piece of art: A bunch of locks on the door with the words “The World is Not Safe Anymore” scratched in the door.

Dinosaur with a saddle on it for the kids. Awesome.

Couldn’t figure out the whole dragon thing.

Received three new buttons for my car visor.

The Adam and Eve display, a little, um….

Good burrito in the cafe.

Stupid, idiotic ceremony for PZ Myers at the end outside the gates of the museum.

Grades (I’ll explain these more in detail tonight)

Aesthetics-A. Very well done, ladies and gentlemen. I have been to far worse chrisitan stuff. Great presentation.

Bible/Theology- C- I’ll explain this more later

Philosophy- D. Dualistic worldview is bad. BAD!!!!!!!!!

Indepth conversations with atheists about God and the nature of reality-A Both going down, at the museum itself, and then coming back.

Guard dogs-F Why?????

29 Comments leave one →
  1. Steph permalink
    August 8, 2009 1:05 pm

    Dinosaur with saddle! I love it. I think they meant to saddle the guard dogs and never got around to it.

    (Yeah, there is no good explanation for those….)

  2. August 8, 2009 2:12 pm

    Guard Dogs? Because there have been many people (atheists??? 🙂 ) who have tried to blow that place up. They have one of the highest security systems in the world, they have former CIA, FBI, etc. who are Christians working security.

  3. August 8, 2009 3:06 pm

    Fascinating! I look forward to more on this.

  4. August 8, 2009 3:25 pm

    I don’t know if you’ll think this is better or worse, but the dogs are always there–at least, they were there when we went on a quiet Wednesday in March. They didn’t bring them out just for the atheist group, in other words.

  5. thomas2026 permalink*
    August 9, 2009 2:25 am

    Hey Cameron,

    Thanks for clearing that one up. I wasn’t sure.

    pax Jesu,
    J-

  6. August 9, 2009 3:09 am

    You’re welcome.

  7. August 9, 2009 3:51 pm

    “Stupid, idiotic ceremony for PZ Myers at the end outside the gates of the museum.”

    Yes, exactly.

    Because sometimes stupid and idiotic things are incredibly fun.

  8. Larry permalink
    August 10, 2009 1:20 am

    > Or, it could have been my question mark cross tshirt (the sign of the Thomas Society) I wore. It says, “Question Everything” on the back. On second thought, I got a bunch of weird looks from the atheists too. I think I confused everyone.<
    LOL You are funny. Interesting post. Happy to see an openminded minister hanging out with my kind of peeps.

    Respectfully,
    Larry

  9. thomas2026 permalink*
    August 10, 2009 1:22 am

    Thanks Larry! I like your peeps.

  10. Daniel permalink
    August 10, 2009 3:22 pm

    ” I think I confused everybody” LOL Loving your blog history of this trip and had been eagerly awaiting updates after praying for you this weekend. Can’t help but think of the “Christians” at Antioch…Wish I agreed with you 10%, but 95% will have to do!

  11. thomas2026 permalink*
    August 10, 2009 3:57 pm

    Thanks, man! You know I love you whether you agree with 95 percent or five.

    J-

  12. onein6billion permalink
    August 10, 2009 7:17 pm

    “Dualistic worldview is bad.”

    You’re hilarious.

  13. Amber permalink
    August 10, 2009 11:27 pm

    Hey! Just found your blog. Love it so far. I wasn’t able to go to SSA, but I’ve been following the blog posts about it. As someone who is studying microbiology, the creationist museum is very interesting to me.

  14. tmaxPA permalink
    August 11, 2009 1:20 am

    There has never been anyone ever who has tried to “blow up” the Creationist Museum. Your paranoia is showing. You (and they) may be convinced atheists would want to harm you, and that they would have no reason not to since there is no God to tell them it is a bad thing. That is understandable, because you are stupid. They have no desire to harm you because they have an enlightened philosophy, enabling them to understand ‘good’ without an imaginary being dictating it to them.

  15. tmaxPA permalink
    August 11, 2009 1:27 am

    As I pointed out, Thom, the ostentatious show of security is because of a very particular institutional paranoia. You see, most religionists are convinced that without a supernatural being dictating what is right and wrong, humans have absolutely no ability to recognize any distinction. They fully expect any atheist would want to kill them as soon as look at them, and would see no reason (other than, perhaps, legal “difficulties”) not to do so. In order to maintain the integrity of their world-view, then, they must consider any atheist as capable of violence and deceit, and is a potential threat greater than any other conceivable threat. So, guard dogs at a “museum” makes perfect sense.

    It should be noted that they are always completely disappointed to find that secularists as well as atheists are peaceful, moral, law-abiding people. If we wanted an excuse to do evil, we could just invent a deity to command it, after all. As far as people like Ham go, they’re pretty sure we’re just trying to lull them into a false sense of security….

  16. thomas2026 permalink*
    August 11, 2009 2:44 am

    Actually, my name is Jonathan. The Thomas society refers to St. Thomas the Apostle, patron saint of doubters.

    Anyway, you say most religionist, I think that’s a bit of a strong statement. It would be better to say, “a certain group of AMerican Christians who buy into dispensationlist Left Behind theology.” Then, I would have no arguments.

  17. thomas2026 permalink*
    August 11, 2009 2:46 am

    Um, yeah, so, tmax, not sure what blog you are reading, but I don’t believe I ever said there was someone who was going to blow up the Creationist museum. Do you mind explaning where you got this one? I don’t think you were paying attention.

  18. thomas2026 permalink*
    August 11, 2009 2:46 am

    In fact, I was saying the opposite. A little more careful reading of my posts might be in order.

  19. thomas2026 permalink*
    August 11, 2009 2:53 am

    Amber,
    Thanks for stopping by! It’s certainly an interesting place. You won’t be bored. Too bad you couldn’t make the conference. It was good and they actually let me speak.

    J-

  20. detrius permalink
    August 11, 2009 9:58 am

    @thomas2026

    tmaxPA was replying to this statement from A. Barnes: “Guard Dogs? Because there have been many people (atheists??? 🙂 ) who have tried to blow that place up.”

    A little more careful reading of the replies might be in order. 😉

  21. thomas2026 permalink*
    August 11, 2009 11:13 am

    Ah, Detrius, Thank you very much.

    TMAX, I apologize greatly! You wouldn’t believe how this whole thing has caught me flatfooted. Again, my apologies.

    Doutfully,
    J-

  22. gmv permalink
    August 11, 2009 1:46 pm

    The K9 units at the museum are trained bomb-sniffing dogs, not attack dogs. Believe it or not, the museum gets many threats (as does Ken Ham himself), and they take the security of their guests very seriously. Thus, they have well-trained security officers, bomb-sniffing dogs, security cameras, etc., not because they want to stifle dissent, or intimidate guests, but to be prepared to secure the safety and lives of their guests.

  23. thomas2026 permalink*
    August 11, 2009 1:54 pm

    They shouldn’t parade them around in front of visitors. If there is a threat, the building should be cleared. I saw them more than once.

  24. thomas2026 permalink*
    August 11, 2009 1:57 pm

    Further, I talked to a guy who used to work for the Smithsonian. He is a Christian and he told me the only reason they would “bring out the dogs” is to either intimidate or to, as you said, find bombs. If there was as bomb threat that day, why wasn’t the building cleared? Why were they paraded around the building?

  25. August 11, 2009 2:11 pm

    When we were there in March, we saw only a single dog with its handler, and they were outside patrolling the parking lot. I truly don’t recall seeing one inside, which I’m inferring from your statements above, so that would be a difference between your visit and mine.

  26. thomas2026 permalink*
    August 11, 2009 2:39 pm

    Cameron,
    I still think that parking lot or whatever, they aren’t needed at all. It’s supposed to be a museum and when you consider that not even the Smithsonian brings out the dogs unless absolutely needed, its something to consider. I think it puts people on edge especially in the type of situation we had Friday.

  27. August 11, 2009 6:46 pm

    I agree.

Trackbacks

  1. Round Up Of More Creation Museum Responses « Camels With Hammers
  2. Salad Is Slaughter - A Gluttonous Curmudgeon and “D” List Blogger » Creation Museum

Leave a Reply

