Skip to content

New Comment Policy

February 28, 2010

I, Jonathan, am no longer going to respond to the comment section on this blog. 

There are many reasons for doing this. First, I’ll be honest, trying to answer every post is just exhausting. I’m a husband. I’m a dad. I’m a campus minister. I’m a writer. I’m planning a trip to New Orleans. I have found myself not doing these jobs well because of fretting or worrying about replying to posts. Indeed, I have often stayed up late stewing about our conversations here.

I do this because I think all of you deserve answers. I have a responsiblity to you all to answer your posts. But, I just can’t. Something in  my life has to give at this point. I realize that there are better people than me who can do all of this. I’m just not one of them.

I have contemplated shutting down the blog for a number of times in the past six months both in good times and in bad. I have decided that’s not the course of action I wanted to take. I think this blog occupies a unique place for Christians and atheists of all stripes to have amazing discussions. But, it’s also my blog where I talk about things that interest me, books, writing, movies and culture. All of those things are going to continue. I enjoy posting those things for people to talk about. I even enjoy the give and take of the comment discussions. That’s the problem. I enjoy them too much at the neglect of other things that have more of a claim on my time.

So, I came up with this solution. Consider my blog posts as ways to introduce discussion points and then discuss away. Same rules apply. You can attack me verbally, but not others. No editing. No banning unless you ignore my warnings about attacking other people.

I should point out this is not permanent. I’m hoping once summer comes, I’ll be able to get back into the swing of answering each comment post.

Doubtfully,

J-

10 Comments leave one →
  1. Alex permalink
    February 28, 2010 8:20 pm

    I’d like to say that, despite my disagreement with you today in the previous thread, I’m upset to hear this. I think your comments add a unique voice and direction to the discussion. I understand that it can absorb a person to get caught up in a chain of post and response, over and over, and it can take over one’s time and mental resources. I do hope you don’t stop posting at least the occasional brief comment or question, and do look forward to the end of your commenting hiatus. You’re a worthy adversary, and a stalwart voice in the debate, and it would be a shame to lose you.

    -Alex

  2. Knockgoats permalink
    February 28, 2010 8:40 pm

    Jon,
    I can well understand that – I spend too much time arguing on blogs myself, and often the argument continues in my head when I’m trying to sleep. I have in the past taken longish breaks and I think you’re wise to do as you intend if the strain is telling on you. Incidentally, my current intention is to stick around for the rest of Cruz’s posts on the problem of evil and the incarnation, then cease posting here.

  3. thomas2026 permalink*
    February 28, 2010 8:47 pm

    Knockgoats,

    You certainly don’t have to go after you are done with Cruz’s posts on anyone’s account. If you need a break too, great, just hope you will come back.

  4. AdamK permalink
    February 28, 2010 8:49 pm

    I never, ever comment here anymore, except when I do.

  5. Alex permalink
    February 28, 2010 9:02 pm

    And that’s a loss for all of us, AdamK.

    Especially because you have the odd habit of agreeing with me and saying that I’m funny.

    I think what I mean to say, AdamK, is that I love you.

  6. erp permalink
    March 1, 2010 2:26 am

    Concentrate on your family first even though both you and we value your comments on our comments.

  7. AdamK permalink
    March 1, 2010 7:55 am

    Alex, you and KG are always reading my mind and articulating my thoughts better than I could myself, so I’m reduced to nodding vigorously.

  8. March 1, 2010 4:26 pm

    Shoot it’s rough even keeping up on one post!

  9. Tomato Addict permalink
    March 2, 2010 6:56 pm

    Huh? What?? Did I miss something??? I’ve been sorta busy lately …

    Do what you can, not what you can’t.
    Wherever you go, there you are.
    Do, or do not, there is no try.

  10. thomas2026 permalink*
    March 2, 2010 11:34 pm

    Nah, you didnt miss anything. Just tired.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

