Skip to content

My reaction to the “T-shirt Scandal”.

August 9, 2009

Well, the atheist/christian blogging world is aflame with what I call “The T-Shirt Scandal”. Basically, an atheist was kicked out of the museum for “unruly behavior”. He apparently had been warned about this t-shirt (which wasn’t really that big of a deal) and then he made a comment about how he wouldn’t spend anymore money at the museum (funny, I wouldn’t either, not in that bookstore). Apparently, this deeply offended a family from Virginia and “ruined” their whole vacation.

My reaction? Get over it.

The kid didn’t deserve to get kicked out. He was actually very respectful and apologized to the family. How do I know? I was there, watching the whole thing go down. You see, I was the undercover minister who was asked by the SSA to go with them on the trip and I addressed their conference the next day. I’m a full on Presbyterian minister, who subscribes to the Nicene Creed without hesitation.

It infuriates me when fellow Christians resort to these kind of tactics. It certainly plays to the crowd which likes the museum and probably brings in more donations. But, their whole reaction to this event are half truths at best, outright lie at worst.

All the kids tshirt said was “Smile, there is probably no god.” Creation museum folks, if you are trying to spread the Truth, then you should be able to handle the people you are trying to reach. Not watch them like hawks as if they were vandals. Not take guard dogs on rounds through the museum.

Guard dogs? For the love of St. Thomas…

Family from Viriginia? You need to educate your kids that there are people who believe there is no god. My six year old already knows this and he handles it just fine. It’s not a threat to his faith.

I’m also going to respond later today to some Christian bloggers who were there.

Why am I doing this? Because Christians are supposed to be about TRUTH, not lies. To be gracious, not play to your giving base.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. chris bean permalink
    August 9, 2009 7:13 pm

    Hey, catching up on some of your posts here. I hope to meet up with you soon down at 1801 Mills in Cincy or something. I’m a new staffer with CCO down here at the University of Cincinnati. Occasionally I’m in Columbus as well…so I’d love to hear more about the great relationships and conversations you’re having with our atheistic brothers and sisters! I’d love to develop some similar dialogue down this way.

    It was fun to read some of your reactions to the Creation Museum too. Seemed like you were echoing many of my thoughts/responses when I was there last summer. lol

  2. August 9, 2009 7:17 pm

    I missed your introduction at NPC this morning, but learned a bit about the T-Shirt “incident” after visitng The Friendly Atheist. We’ve heard lots of protestations about atheists’ public relations campaigns and have been concerned that we Christians are so unfriendly, not good listeners, and antagonistic responders. Thanks for the lesson on grace!

  3. thomas2026 permalink*
    August 9, 2009 7:19 pm

    Thanks Kathleen! I really enjoyed meeting you and speaking at NPC!

  4. healthyaddict permalink
    August 10, 2009 10:52 am

    Not too much to add to this really – I couldn’t agree with you more. 🙂

  5. Country Crock permalink
    August 11, 2009 12:10 am

    Sir, I don’t know you but I certainly appreciate you. I was not at the museum and I have never met any of the people who were there. I am currently on the downhill side of a long deconversion process. Had I been under your ministry, it would have been greatly delayed or postponed. One of my “reasons” for leaving the faith is the inability to find Christians who actually act like Christ. In my 30+ years of ministry, I have found Christians overall to be scared, frightened, duplicitous, liars, unscrupulous in business, dishonest, untrustworthy, insecure, unkind, unloving, unconcerned overall…all the things that are supposed to be different in a transformed life. You, Sir, are the exception. Thank you for your testimony and your walk consistant with what you preach.

  6. thomas2026 permalink*
    August 11, 2009 2:51 am

    Hello Country,
    Ah, a fellow minister. We walk a dark road sometimes, do we not? I completely understand.

    And your comments really got to me. Thanks for stopping by. Hope you stick around.

    J-

  7. janeteholmes permalink
    August 11, 2009 5:10 am

    Well of course Christians resort to lies, the whole belief system is a lie so how would you know where to stop? When you’re peddling fairy-tales of course you’re defensive and anxious if a bunch of rational thinker drop by. It’s easy to lie to the ignorant and deluded, but rather more difficult when you’re faced with the informed and thoughtful. I’d panic too in those conditions.

  8. thomas2026 permalink*
    August 11, 2009 12:33 pm

    Janet,
    Thanks for stopping in. I would certainly take issue with many of the things you said. But, with Ham and company, it has nothing to do with rational thinking. It has to do with control and power. Pure and simple.

    Doubtfully,
    J-

Leave a comment